It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Offers full-text runs scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color of core U.S. and U.K. trade papers and mass-market consumer magazines covering the entertainment industry issued weekly or monthly between 1880 and 2000. The selected magazines cover a wide range of subjects in the performing arts, including popular music, theater, film, and broadcasting (television, and radio), together with film fan magazines and music press titles. This archive, which will feature over 25 titles when complete, is presently in development and growing monthly. These complete backfiles will support analysis of trends, movements, styles, and key figures in popular culture across the entire 20th century and provide a broad spectrum of valuable research material for multidisciplinary study of the music, film, and media industries.
Full-text, expanding archive of selective interviews, feature articles, reviews, and more on rock and a wide range of popular music (including blues and soul) from the music and mainstream press, updated weekly. The homepage includes links to highlights, audio and video interviews, blogs, and many other features beyond the ultimate archive of rock music writing and journalism.
Licensed datasets from Billboard, the Official Charts Company (UK), GfK Entertainment (Germany), and many other international reporting agencies that chart & rank the sales of top recorded popular music albums & singles from the 1950s to current. Also provides streaming audio links to copyright-cleared sound samples for most cited tracks & albums, and links to articles in popular music journals & on websites. Tools allow users to graph, analyze, compare, and contrast musical trends & interactions, and to extract & compare charting data for sound recording sales. Includes a module on the cultural impact of recorded music.
Chicago-based daily Internet publication established in 1995 focused on underground and independent music, especially indie and alternative rock. See Wikipedia for a critical overview of this Web site's content.
Music Periodical Databases
Use these resources primarily to find print and online articles, reports, notices, reviews, and other writings on the music industry published in music journals, trade publications, and magazines.
Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included. 1967+
Indexes music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition to music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Provides selected full text coverage of the most important music journals, and both scholarly and popular publications.
Includes international music periodicals covering classical, popular and world of music. Comprehensively cites articles and news about music, musicians and the music industry as well as book and concert reviews and obituaries.
Print volumes covering 1949-1972 are available in Mendel Music Library: Reference (SV) ML 118 M84.