Skip to main content

Finding and using financial data at Princeton University

Corporate Change

Mergers & Acquisitions

To match equities from databases (CRSP, Compustat, Datastream, Execucomp, NYSE TAQ, SDC), see the Matching Guide. For hints on finding specific items in these databases as well as additional sources, see the Economics and Finance FAQ.


Mergers and Acquisitions*
  • Detailed searches on mergers & acquisitions.
  • Coverage
    • Most recent 30 days excluded
    • Domestic - 1979+
    • International coverage 1985+
    • All corporate transactions involving at least 5% of the ownership of a company where the transaction was valued at $1 million or more (after 1992, deals of any value are covered) or where the value of the transaction was undisclosed are included.
    • Public & private transactions.
    • Includes mergers & acquisitions, tender offers, stock swaps, spinoffs & splitoffs, recapitalizations, stake purchases, bankruptcy liquidations, FDIC sales of failed banks, asset sales & divestitures, rumored & seeking buyer, & leveraged buyout transactions.
  • For mergers & acquisitions outside the USA also see OSIRIS.
Also available in Firestone, A Floor RIS Suite through the SDC interface.
Osiris*
  • Financial information on globally listed public companies from over 120 countries.
  • The combined industrial company dataset contains standardized & as reported financials, including restated accounts, for up to 20 years on over 88,000 companies.
  • Bank financials offer up to 8 years of financial data for more than 2,300 listed banks.
  • Insurance company financials, collected from annual reports and the NAIC, cover up to 9 years of data on over 440 listed insurance companies.
  • Strives to cover all publicly listed companies worldwide. Also covers major non-listed companies when they are primary subsidiaries of publicly listed companies.
  • Ownership data is also provided.
Also available through WRDS.** 
Prowess*
  • Detailed fundamentals data for companies in India. 
  • Includes both private & public companies. 
  • Produced by Centre for the Monitoring of the Indian Economy (CMIE). 
  • Also contains data on ownership & governance (board composition, meetings, major stakeholders, subsidiaries etc.) and mergers & acquisitions.
Available online.(registration required from a Princeton IP).  
Database on Mergers in Europe (DOME)
  • Public domain database on mergers in Europe.
  • Based on the merger cases, which have been under examination by the European Commission since 1990.
  • Consists of 1,515 cases notified until December 31, 2000.
 
Directory of Obsolete Securities
Jersey City, NJ: Financial Information Incorporated, 2010.
  • Each cumulative issue (1928+) contains a brief profile of banks & companies whose original identities have been lost as a result of one or more of the following actions: change in name, merger, acquisition, dissolution, reorganization, bankruptcy, or charter cancellation.
  • Each listing indicates how the company became obsolete, the new name (if any), and the action date. When possible, an indication is made if the stock still has some value.
 
(DR) HG4961.D56 2010
 

*Must be used for academic purposes only, that is, to support the teaching and research of Princeton University.
 
** WRDS requires user to validate through password (undergraduates request a research assistant account & list your adviser as your faculty member). Must be used for academic purposes only, that is, to support the teaching & research of Princeton University.

Bobbi Coffey and Bobray Bordelon

Bankruptcies

Corporate Restructurings* Allows detailed searches on bankruptcies and exchange offers for the United States. Limited coverage starts in 1980 with full details beginning in 1988. Available in Firestone, A Floor (RIS Suite)  on SDC.
Bankruptcy Yearbook and Almanac.
Boston: New Generation Research, 1991-.
Listings and analysis of bankruptcy data, statistics, and trends. Primarily United States coverage but limited international coverage is included. KF1507.5.B36 (current volume in DR; older in RECAP)
Directory of Obsolete Securities
Jersey City, NJ: Financial Information Incorporated, 2010.
Each cumulative issue (1926+) contains a brief profile of banks & companies whose original identities have been lost as a result of one or more of the following actions: change in name, merger, acquisition, dissolution, reorganization, bankruptcy, or charter cancellation. Each listing indicates how the company became obsolete, the new name (if any), and the action date. When possible, an indication is made if the stock still has some value. (DR) HG4961.D56 2010

For more bankruptcy sources, see the Economics and Finance FAQ.

 

 
*Must be used for academic purposes only, that is, to support the teaching and research of Princeton University.
Bobbi Coffey and Bobray Bordelon

New Issues/IPOs

To match equities from databases (CRSP, Compustat, Datastream, Execucomp, NYSE TAQ, SDC), see the Matching Guide. For hints on finding specific items in these databases as well as additional sources, see the Economics and Finance FAQ.


Global New Issues*: Detailed searches on initial & secondary public offerings. Domestic issues from 1970 to the present. International coverage is mixed. In both cases, the last 30 days are excluded. Also available in Firestone, A Floor (RIS Suite) through the SDC interface.

For older issues, see "Issuer summaries; security issues in the United States, July 26, 1933 to December 31, 1949. Prepared by counsel for defendants in United States v. Henry S. Morgan, et al., doing business as Morgan Stanley & Co.; et al. (Civil No. 43-757) United States District Court for the Southern District of New York."  (Firestone Library NonCirculating) Oversize HG4963 .S95q
 
"Corporate Financing".  (Firestone Library NonCirculating) Oversize HG4501 .I66q   (1969-1973)
 
Corporate financing, 1950-1960. (not held by Princeton but available through interlibrary loan) OCLC: 250839
 
*Must be used for academic purposes only, that is, to support the teaching and research of Princeton University.

Bobbi Coffey and Bobray Bordelon

Ownership

Thomson Financial Ownership Data * (formerly CDA Spectrum).

For the USA & Canada, consists of 3 parts: (1) mutual fund holdings 1980+: All registered mutual funds filing with the SEC plus 3,000 global funds. Includes NYSE/AMEX/NASDAQ, Toronto & Montreal common stocks; (2) institutional 13(f) common stock holdings & transactions 1980+; (3) insider filing data 1986+ divided into the following major parts: (a) Table 1 -- transaction & holdings information, (b) Table 2 -- open market derivatives transactions as well as information on the award, exercise, & expiration of stock options (this files starts in 1996), (c) Proposed Sale data derived from Form 144 (this file starts in 1996), (d) Average Returns file contains the information relating to how a stock has historically performed following an insider's transactions. The file includes average 3-month & 6-month buy & sell returns as well as the number of historic buy & sell decisions for each individual insider.

For international, use the section entitled "Ownership" once in WRDS.  Includes (1) Consolidated Holdings, (2) Institutional Holdings, and (3) Mutual Fund Holdings.  Dates of coverage vary by country but earliest data is 1997.   User's Guide.

 

 

Available through WRDS. Requires user to validate through password (undergraduates request a research assistant account and list your adviser as your faculty member).
Osiris. * Financial information on globally listed public companies from over 140 countries. The combined industrial company dataset contains standardized and as reported financials, including restated accounts, for up to 20 years on over 88,000 companies. The bank financials offer up to 8 years of financial data for more than 2,300 listed banks. Insurance company financials, collected from annual reports and the NAIC, cover up to 9 years of data on over 440 listed insurance companies. Strives to cover all publicly listed companies worldwide. Also covers major non-listed companies when they are primary subsidiaries of publicly listed companies. Ownership data is also provided. Also available through WRDS. Requires user to validate through password (undergraduates request a research assistant account & list your adviser as your faculty member).
CSMAR Shareholders* Includes profiles, annual emolument & number of shareholdings of managerial staffs of Chinese listed companies, changes of equity structure, changes of board chairman and general manager of listed companies and shareholders’ meetings of listed companies, as well as executive equity incentives of listed companies. 2003+ online
Who Owns Whom

Useful for determining international ownership over time. 1961+  Covers:

  • United Kingdom: 1961-1964, 1966-1968, 1970-1988, 1990-2004, 2012-2015
  • Ireland 1977-1988, 1990-2004, 2012-2015
  • Continental Europe: 1962-2004
  • Northern Europe: 2012-2015
  • South East Europe: 2012-2015
  • Western Europe: 2012-2015
  • Australasia: 1973, 1975-1976, 1981, 1984, 1988-2000
  • Far East: 1973, 1975-1976, 1981, 1984, 1988-1998, 2012-2015
  • North America: 1973-2004, 2012-2015
  • Asia, Middle East & Africa: 1998-2000
  • South America: 1998-2004, 2012-2015
  • Rest of the World 2012-2015
online
Directory of corporate affiliations (various titles) 1968-2014, 2016+ HG4057.A2 D5

 


Also consult the FAQ
 
*Must be used for academic purposes only, that is, to support the teaching and research of Princeton University.
Bobbi Coffey and Bobray Bordelon

Thomson International Ownership Guide