Skip to main content

Finding and using financial data at Princeton University

Fundamentals - USA - Data

To match equities from databases (CRSP, Compustat, Datastream, Execucomp, NYSE TAQ, SDC), see the Matching Guide. For hints on finding specific items in these databases as well as additional sources, see the Economics and Finance FAQ.


Princeton has many directories in print, some dating back over a century. The following sources provide fundamental data.

Compustat. **: Detailed fundamental data for companies trading on all of the major United States & Canadian exchanges. Special files contain bank specific data. Data date back to 1950. However Compustat came to the market around 1964 and backfiled active companies from that time period back to 1950.  There appears to be survivor bias for the 1950s. There is also industry specific data for airlines, gaming, homebuilding, health care facilities, lodging, managed health care (HMOs), mining, oil & gas, retail, semiconductors, and utilities.  Available through WRDS.
Tips:

Compustat Constituent Lists USA.  USA list includes tickers for the S&P 500 constituent and industry data in Compustat North America plus NASDAQ 100 and Dow Jones Industrials.  Includes the sectors, industry groups, and sub-industries for the S&P. Available through WRDS.

SNL Financial Institutions (FIG).  Available through WRDS.** USA data is back to 1981. International back coverage goes back to at least 2010 with many of the significant institutions in Europe dating to 2005 and Asia-Pacific to 2008.

Ratewatch ScholarProvides deposit rates (1997-2017); fees (2000-2017); and loan rates (2000-2017) for financial institutions across the United States.

Osiris. *: Financial information on globally listed public companies from over 140 countries. The combined industrial company dataset contains standardized and as reported financials, including restated accounts, for up to 20 years on over 88,000 companies. Bank financials offer up to 8 years of financial data for more than 2,300 listed banks. Insurance company financials, collected from annual reports and the NAIC, cover up to 9 years of data on over 440 listed insurance companies. Strives to cover all publicly listed companies worldwide. In addition, it covers major non-listed companies when they are primary subsidiaries of publicly listed companies. Ownership data is also provided. Also available through WRDS.** 

WRDS SEC Analytics Suite** Develop tailored datasets from all SEC filings, parsing millions of regulatory reports based on one's custom criteria.  Parse & extract any entity that reported to the SEC’s EDGAR database since 1994.  Available through WRDS.

Dun & Bradstreet individual business (flat) file, 1969 - present. (Mergent).  Contains establishment level data.  1981 and 1984 were not produced.  Data is also available through the Mergent Data Explr (registration is required).

BusinessUSA: (1997-2017): Contains information on approximately 10 million businesses in the USA. Includes private companies and branches. Latest version available through JerseyClicksAlso available through WRDS.** 

Mergent Archives: collection of Moody's/Mergent Manuals. 1909+. (Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, Public Utility, Transportation, Over the Counter Industrial, Over the Counter Unlisted, Municipals).  Also includes Million Dollar Directory (1959-2016); D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (1979-2016) as well as a large international annual reports collection (larger number of reports become available in the late 1920s.  Some back to the 19th century.)

Factiva: contains company/industry comparisons, financial reports, & profiles.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic: Includes SEC Filings & many local and national directories.

Hoover's. Profiles on over 89 million public & private companies.

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies. Princeton's holdings are located under various call numbers in Firestone. From 1994-2007, under call number HG4057.A575. For 1981: (Oversize) HG4057.A52 1981q; 1984: HG4057.A52 and HG4057.A53; 1985: HG4057.A2 W37; 1987-1988: HG4057.A522, HG4057.A532, HG4057.A533; 2003+ also available electronically.

Compact D/ SEC (Disclosure SEC): presents 10 years of data reported to the Securities Exchange Commission. Covered public U.S. companies only. Available on CD in Microforms.  Princeton holdings:  October 1990, April 1991, October 1992, 1993 (January, July,  November, December), 1994 (January. August, October-December) January-October 1995, 1996 and 1997 (January, April, July, October), 1998 (January, April, July, October), 1999 (January, April, July-August, October), 2000 (April, July, October), 2001 (January, April, July, October-November), 2002 (January, April, October), 2003 and 2004 (January, April, July, October), 2005 and 2006 (January, April, July). Ceased. Available in Firestone Library (A Floor).


 

Fundamentals - USA - Annual Reports

Princeton has many historic annual reports.  To find, search the company name in the Catalog.  Additional sources may be found online:

  • Mergent Archives: collection of Moody's/Mergent Manuals. 1909+. (Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, Public Utility, Transportation, Over the Counter Industrial, Over the Counter Unlisted, Municipals).  Also includes Million Dollar Directory (1959-2016); D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (1979-2016) as well as a large international annual reports collection (larger number of reports become available in the late 1920s.  Some back to the 19th century.)
  • ProQuest Historical Annual Reports.  Collection of searchable United States annual reports from 1844-2008.
  • Public Register's Annual Report Service
  • SEC Edgar
  • Annual Reports Service (Wall Street Journal)
  • Columbia Historical Corporate Reports Online Collection Digitized Annual Reports from Watson Library's collection
  • Historical Corporate Reports Online (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Annual Reports at Academic Business Libraries (This database is a merged list of the corporate Annual Reports to Shareholders at the following universities: Columbia, Cornell, Harvard, M.I.T., Purdue, Stanford, U. of Alabama, U. of California-Berkeley, U. of Pennsylvania, U. of Western Ontario, Yale, and the Science/Industry/Business Library of New York Public Library. Judy Nixon of Purdue writes "Most of these libraries allow on-site use by scholars and some can provide names of on-site research assistants.  Only the Purdue Libraries will loan their reports through Interlibrary Loan.")
  • Princeton has many historic annual reports in paper.  Search the Catalog for the name of the company as the subject.  Princeton also has 10K reports (1966-1987), annual reports (1980-1986, 1992-1994) in microfiche, and Tenders & Acquisitions reports (1983-1986).  See the index for holdings --  Firestone Microforms Services (FilmB) HG4028 .B2 D55

Fundamentals - USA - Notes

*Must be used for academic purposes only, that is, to support the teaching and research of Princeton University.
 
** WRDS requires user to validate through password (undergraduates request a research assistant account and list your adviser as your faculty member). Must be used for academic purposes only, that is, to support the teaching and research of Princeton University.
 
Also consult the FAQ. The Economics and Finance Library homepage may also offer additional sources.
 
Bobbi Coffey and Bobray Bordelon