In the catalog, use the following subject headings:
Search also subdivision Mortality under individual occupational groups
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS): Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities
"...annual information on the rate and number of work-related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries, and how these statistics vary by incident, industry, geography, occupation, and other characteristics."
Comprehensive annual compilation of national occupational fatalities published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Tables include: 1) fatal occupational injuries by industry and event or exposure, 2) fatal occupational injuries resulting from transportation incidents, 3) fatal occupational injuries to private sector wage and salary workers, government workers, and self-employed workers by industry, 4) fatal occupational injuries by primary and secondary source of injury for all fatalities and by major private industry sector 5) fatal occupational injuries by occupation and event or exposure, and 6) fatal occupational injuries resulting from transportation incidents and homicides by occupation. One-time revision of annual data is published within approximately eight months.
Annual report from the AFL-CIO covering "workplace fatalities, injuries, illnesses, the number and frequency of workplace inspections, penalties and public-employee coverage under the Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSH Act). . . . state of mine safety and health."
Print Location: Firestone Library (F) HD7262.5.U6 A342 (missing some years)
[View Catalog Record]
Department of Labor: Workplace Safety & Health
Portal to the U.S. Department of Labor's agencies and units with responsibility for workplace health and safety.
NIOSH, part of the Centers for Disease Control, was created by the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 to develop and enforce workplace safety and health regulations. Its Fatalities in the Oil and Gas Extraction Industry (FOG) topics page includes reports from FOG, a national database that collects detailed information (minus personal identifiable information) about oil and gas extraction fatalities in the U.S. The Fatality Assessement and Control Evaluation (FACE) Program topic page provides access to NIOSH and FACE fatality investigation reports and other safety resources. The NIOSH Mining Statistics page includes fatality data.
Preliminary to OSHA investigations are the Fatality/Incident Summaries, “summaries of fatalities and catastrophes resulting in the hospitalization of three or more workers,” which employers are required to report within eight hours of the incident. OSHA's Establishment Specific Injury & Illness database allows searches for industry and employment size from 1996-2011. OSHA Fatal Facts "describe cases that are representative of employers who failed to identify and correct hazardous working conditions leading to fatalities at their worksites. The documents offer ideas on how to correct these hazards and educate workers about safe work practices."
Effects of Unionization on Worker and Workplace Safety Data Longitudinal unique establishment identifiers for NLRB elections were constructed using a fuzzy-matching algorithm. NLRB and OSHA records were linked at the establishment level using fuzzy-matching, yielding a longitudinal database of all NLRB elections and all of their OSHA enforcement data, including reported occupational fatalities. Covers 1962-2009.