Economics Juniors (2020) Macroeconomics and Firm Dynamics (Ezra Oberfield)

World Development Indicators  Annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications. Provides data from 1960 to the present.  If researching African nations, also see Africa Development Indicators which has some additional variables.  WDI drops items over time and numbers do change.  
Recording on using WDI.

Data-Planet Datasets

Wide variety of economic, labor, social, environmental, and political indicators from many US government agencies as well as international bodies. Includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade (1980+), Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
Recording on content and using Data-Planet

Global Financial Data

Data on bonds, commodities, interest rates, stock markets and indices, futures, exchange rates, GDP, prices, and unemployment. World exchange rates back to 1624, inflation rates back to 1748, and wholesale prices back to 1720. Major commodities going back to 1784. Some annual series go back to the 1200s. Methodology and sources are documented. The stock market indices go back to 1693. Also included are data on stock market capitalization, dividend yields, price/earnings ratios, total return performance indices, and Global Financial Data's World Stock Market Indices.  Recording on content and use of GFD

Global Insight

Best source for United States national, state, and metropolitan data. International data includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, and Balance of Payments as well as OECD's Main Economic Indicators and National Accounts. Limited data coming directly from other countries is also included.
Recording on content and using Global Insight.

BusinessUSA: (1997-2019)

Contains information on approximately 59 million businesses in the USA. Includes private companies and branches. Latest version available through JerseyClicks.  Also available through WRDS.  Recording on how to use BusinessUSA

American Community Survey (ACS) (1996+) 

Producer:United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census.
Scope: Nationwide survey designed to provide communities with a fresh look at how they are changing. 2005 is the first full year. Prior years were small test runs. Replaces the decennial long form. Tells us what the population looks like and how it lives. Includes demographics, socioeconomics status, education, occupancy status, homeownership data, and housing cost data. IPUMS also contains the data in an easier to use format. More recent data may be found directly on the Census website. For summary statistics, use Social Explorer. The health insurance coverage question was added to the ACS in 2008. In 2019, questions about health insurance premiums and subsidies were added to the ACS. Research about these questions and copies of previous questionnaires are available on the ACS website.
Recordings: ACS Methodology; ACS through Social Explorer; ACS through IPUMS

Current Population Survey (CPS) (1962+)  (IPUMS CPS interface)

Recording on how to use the methodology and how to use the CPS
Monthly survey of about 60,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. A detailed demographic supplement is conducted annually in March, and supplements on other topics, including computer use and school enrollment, are also conducted regularly. Listings documenting the occurrence of current population survey supplements by topic and month are available. Questionnaires and codebooks are available at the Census Bureau site.  See the Current Population Reports series for summary reports and methodological papers. While geography is at the state, county, or metropolitan statistical area level, one should use with caution for detailed geography due to the sample size. One should not use for anything other than national, state, or the 12 largest metropolitan statistical areas.

Remember must use SRA Aventail/Sonicwall to access since requires a Princeton IP address.
Recording on UNIDO content and how to use