Skip to Main Content

Economics Juniors (2021) Environmental Economics

Weather Data - International

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Includes data from the World Resources Institute (discontinued), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (weather data), and the Environmental Protection Agency (air quality). Recording on content and using Data-Planet

Climate Data Online.  Provides surface and upper air data for the United States and select international weather stations in some cases back to the 1800s.

Climate Change Knowledge Portal: Historical Data.  Contains historical temperature and precipitation data aggregated from 2-degree gridded data to the country and basin levels.  Aggregated to the country and basin levels for the period covering 1961-1999.

World Data Center for Meteorology.  Portal to weather data from a variety of sources.

Berkeley Earth Surface Temperature.  Includes over 39,000 unique weather stations.   Combined 1.6 billion temperature reports from 15 preexisting data archives.

WorldClim - Global Climate Data.  Provides historical and current climate data and includes forecasts.

NASA Earth Exchange Global Daily Downscaled Projections (NEX-GDDP).   Each of the climate projections includes daily maximum temperature, minimum temperature, and precipitation for the periods from 1950 through 2100.

World Meteorological Organization Standard Normals. Provides the basis for better understanding the climatology of severe weather and extreme events such as tropical cyclones, El Niño, floods, heat waves, cold waves, droughts and other natural hazards, contributing to saving both lives and property, and improving our understanding and monitoring of the climate system and environment. WMO has drawn attention to issues of major concern, such as ozone layer depletion, global warming, climate change and diminishing water resources.  WMO defines climatological standard normals as "averages of climatological data computed for the following consecutive periods of 30 years: January 1, 1901 to December 31, 1930, January 1, 1931 to December 31, 1960, etc." (WMO, 1984).The latest global standard normals period is 1961-1990. The next standard normals period is January 1991 – December 2020.

GHCN Global Climate. Contains long-term, monthly time series of 4 basic climatic parameters: mean temperature, total precipitation, mean sea level pressure, and mean station pressure for Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America. Also contained in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets. Browse under National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration as the source.

National Snow and Ice Data Center.

International Comprehensive Oc ean-Atmosph ere Data Se t (ICOAD S ) offers surface marine covering 1662-2014, plus preliminary data and products for 2015 to near-real-time.

International Surface Pressure Data Bank.  World's largest collection of pressure observations. 
Consists of 3 components: station observations, marine observations, and tropical cyclone best track pressure reports.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Distributed Active Archive Center. Climate Data Sets.
Long term data on temperature, precipitation, humidity, radiation, wind velocity, and cloud cover. These data are monthly and are either station or gridded data.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Distributed Active Archive Center. Climate Data Sets.
Long term data on data on streamflow and climatology. The data are from a range of time scales (daily and monthly) and are from meteorological stations or streamflow discharge stations.

Arctic Report Card.  Issued annually since 2006. Timely and peer-reviewed source for clear, reliable and concise environmental information on the current state of the Arctic relative to historical records.

El Niño / Southern Oscillation (ENSO) (National Weather Service - Climate Prediction Center)

Sea Level Trends
NOAA.  Provides sea levels by place historically.  Dates differ but in some cases back a century.

Weather Data - USA

In addition to some of the international weather sources on the left, the following provides weather data for the USA:

CDC WonderProvides daily air temperature and heat indexes (1979-2011), land surface temperatures (2003-2008), fine particulate matter (2003-2011), sunlight (1979-2011), and precipitation by state (1979-2011).

Climate Data Online (National Climate Data Center) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.
Recording on Climate Data Online and general weather sources

Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin Provides information on weather, climate and agricultural developments worldwide, along with detailed charts and tables of agrometeorological information that are appropriate for the season. (1971+)  Forecasts are provided for areas outside the United States.

Sea Level Trends
NOAA.  Provides sea levels by place historically.  Dates differ but in some cases back a century.  Also see the Sea Level Rise Viewer.

UV Index.  (NOAA) Ultraviolet index data by city back to 1994.