Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Listed here are collections too small for the major libraries collections section, but considered too significant or unique not to single out in this guide.
Band Music from the Civil War Era: Notated Music (Library of Congress)
Includes scores and parts for popular brass band music of the Civil War era.
Classical String Quartets: Rare and Unusual Publications of Music for String Quartet (Duke University)
First or early editions of the parts for 44 string quartets dating ca. 1770-1840. Revised and migrated Duke University Libraries Digital Repository site.
International Guitar Research Archive: C.C. Easley Microfilm Scores Digital Collection (California State University, Northridge)
Eclectic collection of publications and manuscripts of original works and arrangements for guitar, mandolin, or lute dating from the mid-19th century through the early 1950s and digitized from the microfilms of materials amassed by San Francisco guitar enthusiast C. C. Easley (see more here
). Housed in one of the world's largest collections of guitar sheet music at Oviatt Library.
International Harp Archives: Scores (Brigham Young University)
A selection of over 2,340 digitized scores of music for solo harp or harp with other instruments or voice dating from the 18th century through 1922 (accessed via the Internet Archive) housed in the the International Harp Archives at Brigham Young University. Also available from the Internet Archive
Irish Sheet Music Archives: The Sheet Music Collections at the Ward Irish Music Archives (Milwaukee, WI): Browse Sheet Music Collection
To extract the digitized sheet music, click on all the date options under Public Domain Music in the left sidebar to automatically generate a list (there are no sorting options beyond the default order). To access the digital images of a piece, click on the "View Details" button for each record. Complete digitizations beyond just the front covers are currently available for over 5,000 of the ca.10,000 pieces in this public domain collection. The Galleries
feature themed collections from the public domain material and most of the music is fully digitized.
Irish Traditional Music Archive (ITMA) = Taisce Cheol Dúchais Éireann: ITMA Online Collections
A reference library and archives for Irish traditional music and dance, including music from Ireland, Irish settlements abroad, and non-Irish performers of Irish traditional music. To locate the ITMA's digitized sheet music, search on sheet music
(without phrase quotations); for other published score materials or music manuscripts, search on music notation
(without quotes), which duplicates most but not all of the sheet music search content. The Interactive Scores
component offers modern transcriptions and playback of music from historic and more recent Irish folk music anthologies. Requires Sibelius Scorch plugin to work fully, but the "Score for printing" link at the bottom of each record's white screen will open the music. Upcoming migration to a new website announced February 2017.
Library of the Jewish Theological Seminary (JTS): Digital Collections: Jewish Art Music
Small but significant collection of digitized vocal and instrumental art music (with primary texts largely in Hebrew, Yiddish, or Ladino) by Jewish composers published mostly in Europe from the 1910s until the early 1940s.
Women Composers Collection (Univeristy of Michigan)
Digital collection over 2,270 published and manuscript songs, solo piano pieces, and other works by women composers dating from the 18th century through the 1920s. This link points to the full-text, public domain content within a larger digitized collection of ca. 2,800 works by over 700 composers.
Digitized Mixed Collections
The Moldenhauer Archives--The Rosaleen Moldenhauer Memorial: Scores (Library of Congress)
The Moldenhauer Archives, distributed worldwide across ten repositories, includes thousands of music manuscripts, letters, and other materials ranging from medieval through the 20th century. The Moldenhauer bequest to the Library of Congress in 1987 consisted of more than 3,500 items and is the greatest composite gift of musical documents yet received by the Library. Part of the American Memory Collection.
Virtual Music Rare Book Room (University of North Texas)
Digitized collection of over 200 primarily late-17th- and 18th-century holdings (particularly strong in French opera) from the UNT Music Library, supplemented by materials from private collectors scanned with permission.
Sheet Music, Songbooks & Vocal Music
American Sacred Music (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
Small digitized collection of 19th- and early-20th-century sacred music published in the United States, focusing on music from the Midwest. Includes hymns, anthems, cantatas, revival songs, and other types of religious music issued primarily in hymnals, songbooks, service books, and other collections. Maintained by the Mills Music Library.
Pacific Northwest Sheet Music Collection (University of Washington)
Focuses on music about Washington State and the Pacific Northwest, including materials from the Ashford Collection.
St. Petersburg Score Collection (American Society for Jewish Music)
Collection of scores from the Society for New Jewsih Folk [Ethnic] Music founded in St. Petersburg in 1908. The composer-members organized at a time when Russia temporarily liberalized restrictions on Jews, and subsequently after emigration had a wide-ranging influence on the Jewish music published in Europe (particularly Germany), the United States, and Palestine / Israel.
See also the Sheet Music (Pre-1923) section of this guide.
Popular Music Manuscripts & Performance Materials
The Hoagy Carmichael Collection: Music (Indiana University)
Holographs, manuscripts, vocal / piano-vocal scores, lead sheets, and performance parts from the archival collections of master songwriter Hoagland "Hoagy" Carmichael (1899-1981). Maintained by the Digital Library Program and Archives of Traditional Music, Indiana University.