Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are found modern, post-1922 critical editions (digitized print or born-digital). Older complete editions in the public domain show up in numerous score repositories cited elsewhere.
Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: The Complete Works
The ongoing complete edition is not available online. This site does offer a form
to obtain performance materials based on the edition free of charge and provides links
to digital facsimiles of early editions of C.P.E. Bach imprints held by Harvard University (scroll to bottom).
Databases of Handschriften and Werke contain links to digitized manuscripts and early and old complete editions. Underwritten by the Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften. Navigation of digital content on this site is challenging.
Guillaume Du Fay Opera Omnia
In progress. Hosted by DIAMM.
NMA Online: Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: Digitized Version
Offers a digitized version of the music and the critical commentary volumes of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe (published by Bärenreiter, 1956-2007). Maintianed by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum. Now a component of the Digitale Mozart-Edition--Digital Mozart Edition
under development since July 2001 at the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg in cooperation with Packard Humanities Institute in Los Altos, California.
Carl Nielsen Edition: Download
Free downloadable PDFs of the volumes from the recently published Carl Nielsen (1865-1931) complete edition. Also available from the online Catalogue of Carl Nielsen's Works (CNW)
. Maintained by the Danish Centre for Music Editing under the Royal Library (Det Kongelige Bibliotek).
Online Music Anthology (A-R Editions)
Fee-based resource--subscription required to access. Click here
for the anthology's contents and sample first page of each work. Offers over 600 newly edited scores from antiquity through the romantic era, targeted particularly for music history and theory study and pedagogy.
Archive of Seventeenth-Century Italian Madrigals and Arias (ASCIMA)
Provides critical editions of 17th-century Italian madrigals and arias, with introductions in Italian, German, and English, and text translations into English and German. As of October 2016, composers represented include Claudio Monteverdi, Giovanni Rovetta, and Giovanni Valentini. Maintained by the University of Birmingham.
The C.M.M.E. Project (Computerized Mensural Music Editing): Database (CMME Repertory Access)
Offers critical scholarly editions of selective Renaissance sources and repertory. Maintained by the University of Utrecht (Universities Utrecht). Latest edition added in 2011.
The Gilbert and Sullivan Archive
An exhaustive website actively curated by Paul Howarth focused on the collaborative work of W. S. Gilbert and Arthur Sullivan. Click on the left sidebar buttons to land on a detailed homepage for each of the 14 operas that provides links to digitized scores (including free, recently prepared vocal scores by G&S experts), manuscripts, and other performance materials.
The Josquin Research Project (JRP): Search, Browse, and Analyze Complete Scores of Polyphonic Music, ca. 1420-1520--Browse by Composer
Hosts a database of scores with works by Busnoys, Josquin, La Rue, Martini, Ockeghem and many others. Maintained by Jesse Rodin (Music Department) and the CCARH, Stanford University.
WLSCM: Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music
Peer-reviewed scholarly editions, maintained by the Society of Seventeenth-Century Music.