Section credit and Princeton resources
This section on archaeology was initially compiled by Marquand Library intern Caitlin Servilio in Fall 2010.
Princeton's Visual Resources Collection in the Department of Art & Archaeology oversees archaeological archives for the Department.
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology by Call Number: CC70 .E53 2014 (F-Trustee reading room)ISBN: 9781441904669Publication Date: 2014-02-2511 vols. + online
The following are only a selected list of additional archaeology reference books available at Marquand and Firestone. Click on the links to go to the Library Catalog to search by title, author or call number.
- A Dictionary of Archaeologyedited by Ian Shaw and Robert Jameson, 1999. CC70 .D53 1999
- Penguin Archaeology Guideedited by Paul Bahn, 2004. CC70 P46 2004
- Dictionnaire Biographique D’archéologie 1798-1945Eve Gran-Aymerich, 2001. CC110 .G73 2001
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Archaeological Materials and Archaeometryby Z. Goffer, 1996. CC70 .G64 1996
- Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeologyedited by Charles E. Orser, Jr.. 2002. CC77.H5 E53 2002
- Archaeological Method & Theoryeditor, Linda Ellis, 2000. CC75 .A654 2000
- Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History & Discoveries and the Great Archaeologistsedited by Tim Murray, 2001 and CC100 .E54 2001 for History and Discoveries, 1999 and CC110 .E54 1999 for The Great Archaeologists
- Oxford Companion to Archaeologyedited by Brian M. Fagan, 1996. CC70 .O96 1996
Web Resources
There are many websites with archaeological information, including:
- Oxford Art Online's article on archaeology
- The Archaeological Institute of America website (has information about Archaeology magazine and the American Journal of Archaeology as well as help for students who want to get involved in fieldwork and site preservation projects); general information here
- The Archaeology Channel (has streaming audio-visual resources about archaeology and important historical sites)
- ArchaeoSeek (billing itself as a social network for archaeologists, this site offers a place to discuss and connect with other archaeology enthusiasts)
- Artefacts (French database of "petits objets archéologiques.")
- National Archaeological Database (according to its website, "an effort was initiated by the National Park Service Archaeological Assistance Division in the 1980s to improve nationwide access to information on archeological activities")
Databases
Here are some online databases available at Princeton (to see a list of all of the Art & Archaeology databases, click here, or alternatively search for databases with the word archaeology or archeology; the GEOSCIENCES and HISTORY, etc. lists of databases may include others of interest/relevance):
If you need to search for images, try this Image Searching page .
- AATA Online Abstracts of International Conservation Literature This link opens in a new windowAbstracts from books, reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more, on the conservation and preservation of works of art, material culture and archaeological and architectural sites. Includes all volumes of AATA and its predecessor, IIC Abstracts.
- Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of significant, current scholarship in cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, & linguistics.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowWorldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. 1800+
- Dyabola This link opens in a new windowProjekt Dyabola provides access to the multilingual and regularly updated Archaeological Bibliography, containing book, article and web-based citations from 1956 to the present based on acquisitions at notable archaeological institutes in Europe. Additional resources related to ancient art, archaeology and history are also available. Once in, check the box at the top "activate IP access and press Start".
- eHRAF Collection of Archaeology This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of cross-cultural materials on world-wide archaeological traditions.
- Gnomon Online This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals in classical philology, ancient history, and archaeology. Based on the journal Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift fur die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft. A good supplement to L'Annee Philologique since it provides more recent citations.
- Humanities Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowEncompasses all key fields of the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. 1925+
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews are monitored for inclusion in the database. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906+
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowDetailed guides to a wide variety of disciplines.
- Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new windowSee the Art & Archaeology Artifact Builder, a database of coins, sculptures, sites, buildings and more.
- Prometheus This link opens in a new windowAn image database based at the Institute of Art History of the University of Cologne / Kunsthistorischen Institut der Universität zu Köln. A German-English search interface provides access to over 90 separate databases of art historical, archaeological, design, architectural, theological, and historical images from institutional and research databases and museums based in Germany, Switzerland, and the Netherlands.
- Abzu This link opens in a new windowDatabase of networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
Browsing for Archaeology Resources
Princeton has over 100 e-journals with archaeology as a subject. Access them here.
If you're browsing for books on a certain archaeological subject, it might be worthwhile to first look up the call number range that your subject is likely to be in using the Library of Congress Classification system.
Here are a few general classes that might be useful:
C Auxiliary Sciences of History
- CC Archaeology
- CJ Numismatics
- CS Geneology
- CB History of Civilization
D World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, etc.
- DE Greco-Roman History
You may visit these call number areas in Firestone or Marquand to browse for relevant content, however a virtual browse via the library catalog will be more complete due to substantial collections out at ReCAP (remote storage) and inaccessibility of Marquand stacks during Art Museum construction (2021-24/25 or so).
More web resources
- ANSS (Anthropology and Sociology Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries)Cataloging Questions & Answers
- Bornblum Eretz Israel Synagogues WebsiteSee description of this resource on the AWOL website: http://ancientworldonline.blogspot.com/2016/02/the-bornblum-eretz-israel-synagogues.html
- FastiOnlineDatabase of worldwide excavations (Roman world) since 2000, but coverage best for Italy, France, Balkans, E. Europe (minus Greece).
- Nouvelles de l'archeologie, LesThe publication "present [sic] the main trends and challenges facing archaeology in France and abroad."
- ZENONGerman Archaeological Institute catalog. Includes some open-access content: see "e-publications."