Research Guides: WRI 133/134 Educational Equities: 4) Specialized Databases (Articles & Primary Sources)

Primary sources in books

Primary sources are often found as parts of printed works. For example, a book on high school students may include interviews or writings by students that describe their personal experiences.

Search the library catalog for the topic you're researching. Try one or more of these subject headings:

Students--United States

High school students--United States

Middle school students--United States

Boys--United States

Girls--United states

Children--United States

Preteens--United States

African American students

African American young men

African American young women

African American boys

African American girls

African American children

Hispanic American students

Hispanic American young men

Hispanic American young women

Hispanic American boys

Hispanic American girls

Hispanic American children

Indians of North America--Students

Indians of North America--Young men

Indians of North America--Young women

Indians of North America--Boys

Indians of North America--Girls

Asian American students

Asian American young men

Asian American young women

Asian American boys

Asian American girls

Asian American children

Education Statistics & Primary Sources

National Center for Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States. Includes some data from international surveys.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Online data and mapping application that gives access to indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Geography available differs by source. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Not all data can be downloaded.
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings: Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+. Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Allows user to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports from 1790 to the present. Also includes the 2011 censuses for Canada and the United Kingdom.

Selected Politics & Policy databases

More politics databases

International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature. 1915+
1968-1971 of the foreign language component is only available in print. (Trustees Reading Room) Z7164.A2P8
POLITICO Pro This link opens in a new window
POLITICO Pro provides real-time policy reporting in agriculture, budget & appropriations, campaigns, cybersecurity, defense, education, eHealth, energy, financial services, health care, labor & employment, sustainability, tax, technology, trade, and transportation.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.
Rand Corporation Publications This link opens in a new window
RAND, a nonprofit public policy research institution, was established after World War II to study national security. Today it also examines domestic policy problems, national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, community development, international relations, and regional studies.

Selected History databases

More History Databases

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Index 1954+
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1954+
Print predecessor Writings on American History covering 1904-1954 is in Firestone's General & Humanities Reference (DR) Z1236.L331.

General Interest Databases

Proquest Research Library
Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
Wilson OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.

All databases by subject

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text with select ones available full text prior to this period.. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. Some simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.

Selected Education Indexes

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Cover-to cover indexing, abstracts, and full text from hundreds of journals covering such topics as: comparative education, competency-based education, higher education, literacy standards, prayer in public schools, student counseling, teaching methods and evaluation, and dozens more.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
Draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Covers all aspects of public policy.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Leading weekly newspaper in higher education. Full-text plus a database of academic jobs (those published in print in the past month) and the Almanac of Higher Education, (basic statistical information on higher education (e.g., enrollment information or executive compensation)) that is updated annually. January 6, 1995+
National Center for Education Statistics Bibliography Search Tool This link opens in a new window
Individual citations from journal articles that have been published using data from many National Center for Education Statistics datasets.
International Bibliographic Database on Higher Education (HEDBIB) This link opens in a new window
Database on higher education systems, administration, planning, policy, and evaluation.
Citations only. Princeton does not have membership.