Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Vocal Music: A Guide to Research and Resources: Search Strategies

Locate online and print resources, including key databases, catalogs, and websites about Vocal Music.

Locating Printed & Electronic Books

All books cited in this guide are available in either electronic or printed form, with some in both options. To connect to an e-book, click the citation link, and then click on the link under Online in the catalog record, which leads to the book on a publisher or vendor website. In most cases, access is available only to authorized Princeton users. To locate printed books in the Mendel collection, click on "Where to find it" beneath "Location" in the catalog record. E-books sometimes bear dates later than the print but do not necessarily offer corrected or revised texts of the print version.

Songs

SONGS (SACRED)

  • M1999 Sacred vocal collections
  • M2018-M2019.5 Duets, trios, etc.
  • M2102-M2114.8 Songs for one voice
  • M2190-M2196 Sacred music for children
  • M2198-M2199 Gospel, revival, temperance songs, etc.
  • ML128.S3 Songs–Bibliography
  • ML128.V7 Vocal music–Bibliography
  • ML132.S6 Songs–Graded lists
  • ML2900-ML3275 General: history and criticism, special periods, by country, kinds and forms, bydenomination
  • MT820-MT893 Vocal instruction and vocal techniques 

SONGS (SECULAR)

  • M1528-M1529.8 Duets, trios, etc.
  • M1611-M1624.8 Songs for one voice
  • M1625-M1626 Recitations, accompanied
  • M1627-M1853 National music (includes folk, patriotic, popular, etc.)
  • M1900-M1980 Songs of special character
  • M1990-M1998 Children's songs/School music textbooks
  • ML128.S3 Songs–Bibliography
  • ML128.V7 Vocal music–Bibliography
  • ML132.S6 Songs–Graded lists
  • ML2500-ML2881 General: history and criticism, special periods, by country, kinds and forms
  • MT820-MT893 Vocal instruction and vocal techniques
  • MT898-MT949 Techniques for children (including schools)

Opera and Oratorio

OPERA

  • M1500 Operas (full score)
  • M1503 Operas (piano-vocal score)
  • M1527 Operas (film, radio, television)
  • ML48-ML50 Librettos
  • ML102.O6 Dictionaries of opera
  • ML128.O4 Opera–Bibliography
  • ML1754-ML1950 History and criticism, special periods, by country, forms and kinds
  • MT95-MT100 Analytical guides, opera plots
  • MT955 Opera production (instruction and study) 

ORATORIO

  • M2000-M2007 Oratorios
  • M2000 full scores
  • M2002-M2003 piano-vocal scores
  • M2004-M2007 excerpts
  • ML53 Librettos
  • ML128.O45 Oratorios-Bibliography
  • ML3201-ML3251 History and criticism: special periods, by country, kinds and forms
  • MT110-MT115 Analytical guides

Choral Music

CHORAL MUSIC (SACRED)

  • M2000-M2007 Oratorios
  • M2010-M2017.7 Services
  • M2020-M2094.7 Cantatas
  • M2060-M2101.5 Choruses or part-songs with keyboard, with solo instrument, or unaccompanied
  • ML128.V7 Vocal music–Bibliography
  • ML132.C5 Choral music–Graded lists
  • ML1500-ML1554/ML2900-ML3275 General: history, special periods, by country, kinds and forms
  • MT110-MT115 Analytical guides
  • MT88 Choirs
  • MT875 Choral techniques
  • MT915 Choir training for children

CHORAL MUSIC (SECULAR)

  • M1530-M1546.5 Choruses with orchestra or ensemble
  • M1547-M1600 Choruses or part-songs with piano, with solo instrument, or unaccompanied
  • M1610 Cantatas, choral symphonies
  • ML128.V7 Vocal music–Bibliography
  • ML132.C5 Choral music–Graded lists
  • ML1500-ML1554 General: history, special periods, by country, kinds and forms
  • MT110-MT115 Analytical guides
  • MT88 Choirs
  • MT875 Choral techniques
  • MT915 Choir training for children