Consists of China Stock Market Trading Database which provides data on stocks returns, market return, & aggregated market returns. Provides comparable closing prices adjusted for effects on share prices due to rights offering, cash dividend, stock dividend, etc. Years of coverage
Shanghai A Share December 19, 1990+
Shanghai B Share February 21, 1992+
Shenzhen A Share July 3, 1991+
Shenzhen B Share February 28, 1992+
Restricted to academic research by Princeton University faculty and students.
Ceased in 2008. The EMDB, from S&P/COMPUSTAT, was a compilation of emerging market information. At the end covered 55 markets and over 3,000 stocks. Country & stock coverage varied over time as countries changed status. Included were market performance, indicators, market capitalization, monthly value traded, local stock market price indexes, prices in local currency and US dollars, etc. Also included 2 series of indexes, the S&P Global (S&P/IFCG) Index (which represents stock market performance without taking into account restrictions on foreign investors) and the IFC Investible (IFCI) index series (which reflects new opportunities for investment since the mid-1980s). These indexes were calculated for prices & returns. Depending on the country, annual coverage started as early as 1975, while monthly coverage started in 1986. There were 34 Major Emerging Markets (countries) and they included: Argentina, Bahrain, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Jordan, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Venezuela, and Zimbabwe. There were 21 Frontier Emerging Markets (countries) and they included: Bangladesh, Botswana, Bulgaria, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Ecuador, Estonia, Ghana, Jamaica, Kenya, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Mauritius, Namibia, Romania, Slovenia, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Ukraine, and Vietnam. Daily data covered the period from June 30, 1995 to 2008. Monthly data covered the periods from December 1975 to 2008 for Major Market (countries) and from January 1996 to 2008 for Frontier Markets (countries). Available through WRDS.
Restricted to academic research by Princeton University faculty and students.
contains data on stock market indices. Methodology & sources are documented. Stock market indices go back to 1693. Also included are data on stock market capitalization, dividend yields, price/earnings ratios, total return performance indices, and Global Financial Data's World Stock Market Indices. Includes historical stocks back to the 1780s for select countries (particularly strong for Australia, Canada, Ireland, and the United Kingdom).
Restricted to academic research by Princeton University faculty and students.
Daily stock price data and detailed fundamentals data for companies in India. Both private and public companies are included. Produced by Centre for the Monitoring of the Indian Economy (CMIE). Also contains data on Ownership and governance (board composition, meetings, major stakeholders, subsidiaries etc.) and mergers & acquisitions. 1989+
Provides intraday data. Princeton subscribes to Futures, Cash Indices, VIX (under Market Indicators), London Equities, Euronext Equities, and Forex data. Dates of coverage vary. User's manual includes many helpful tips.
Firestone Library (A Floor). Use on Workstations 9 and 10.
