International Law
International law refers to the law governing the relationship between countries, and is primarily established by treaties between countries, but may also exist according to customary international rules.
- United Nations Treaty Databases This link opens in a new windowIndex and full text database for some 50,000 bilateral and multilateral treaties and subsequent treaty actions in their authentic language(s), along with a translation into English and French. 1946+
- World Treaty Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of over 160,000 treaties, covering 1648 to the present. Also includes important secondary and scholarly material related to treaty research.
- U.S. Treaties Library (Hein Online) This link opens in a new windowFull-text searchable versions of almost all official and unofficial publications of U.S. treaties and treaty indexes, including U.S.T., T.I.A.S., KAV, Treaties in Force, Bevans Miller, Malloy and International Legal Materials.
- vLex Justis World Law This link opens in a new window
Provides access to case law, legislation, regulation, legal blogs and general news sources from many world jurisdictions including the U.K and Ireland (formerly the Justis database), Continental Europe (Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Spain, and others), Latin America (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and others), Asia Pacific (Australia, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, and others), South Africa and more.
- International Law in Domestic Courts This link opens in a new windowRegularly updated repository of domestic cases addressing international law from over 65 jurisdictions. Contains full texts of judgments in their original language and translations of key passages of non-English judgments into English.
- Oxford Public International Law This link opens in a new windowIncludes Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Oxford International Organizations, and Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law.
- Parry and Grant Encylopaedic Dictionary of International Law This link opens in a new windowProvides over 2,500 entries covering all aspects of international law. Entries include references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites.
- Making Of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window
Provides digital access to historical legal treatises and commentaries covering the law in a variety of foreign jurisdictions including Argentina, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, South Africa, Spain, and Switzerland as well as international, comparative and religious (Canon, Jewish, and Islamic) law topics.
- LLMC Digital This link opens in a new windowElectronic database of historical legal materials is a work in progress. Over the next 5-7 years, this database will contain over 200,000 volumes of U.S. government documents, case reporters, statutes of the U.S. and selected foreign nations, the Congressional Record, the Congressional Globe and many other law materials. A rich source for legal history researchers.
