Databases for information about American Dissent
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new windowContains letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, pamphlets, and rare audio and video materials documenting the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America.
- Rock's Backpages: The Online Library of Rock Writing This link opens in a new windowFull-text, expanding archive of selective interviews, feature articles, reviews, and more on rock and a wide range of popular music (including blues and soul) from the music and mainstream press, updated weekly. The homepage includes links to highlights, audio and video interviews, blogs, and many other features beyond the ultimate archive of rock music writing and journalism. 1950s+
- Hein Online Library This link opens in a new windowContains several libraries containing government information including Congressional Documents, Attorney General Decisions, Presidential Documents, and others.
- ACLU American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1990 This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the more than 2 million documents contained in the records of the American Civil Liberties Union at the Mudd Manuscript library at Princeton University.
- History Vault This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.
- Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.
Selected History databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Index 1954+
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1954+
Selected Science/Technology databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970. 1996+
- Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowMajor bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology. 1896+
Selected Literature databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.
- Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Broad spectrum of reference information. Full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Law Review and Law Journals
The databases listed below contain law journal articles. Before citing a law review article, it is worthwhile to learn the author's affiliation, usually listed in the article's first footnote. Law journals regularly publish student-written articles, sometimes called "notes." While these student-written articles can often be high-quality, they might have less authority than a faculty-written article. Even when this is the case, s student-written can be quite valuable for its citations to related sources.
- Legal Source This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from approximately 850 law journals and selected books with some full-text. 1908+
- Hein Online Law Journal Library This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 700 law reviews, most back to the first volume. Most recent issues are often not included.
- Legaltrac This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from approximately 800 law journals (and selected non-law journals) with some full-text 1980+
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from selected foreign law periodicals and US law reviews focused on international law
- WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.
- Nexis UNI (former Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers.
Case Law
The following database provide electronic access to American case law, statutes, and regulations:
- WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.
- Nexis UNI (former Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers.
In certain limited circumstances, you may need access to the commercial versions of these databases. To inquire about this, please contact the law librarian.
- Fastcase This link opens in a new windowSearchable database providing access to cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions, both federal and state.
- ProQuest Supreme Court Insight This link opens in a new windowCollection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs.
- U.S. Supreme Court Library (Hein Online) This link opens in a new windowFull text of the U.S. Reports and several classic treaties on Supreme Court jurisprudence.
- Harvard Caselaw Access ProjectIncludes all official, book-published United States case law — every volume designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States. Scope includes all state courts and federal courts. Research scholars can qualify for bulk data access by agreeing to certain use and redistribution restrictions. You can request a bulk access agreement by creating an account and then visiting your account page.
Selected Philosophy databases
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowScholarly index to journal articles and books in philosophy. Includes anthologies and book reviews. 1940+
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles with current bibliographies on virtually every aspect of philosophy. Updated quarterly
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles with current bibliographies on many topics of philosophy.
Selected Performing Arts databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included. 1967+
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and provides selective full text from over 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979-1998), Treasures from the Film Archives (identifying silent film holdings in archives worldwide), the International Federation of Film Archives Affiliates' Publications, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections. 1972+
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864. Formerly known as International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text.
Selected Politics databases
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.
Selected Religion databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new windowCitations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals. 1949+
- Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new windowProvides articles with bibliographies on every aspect of religion. The second edition of the classic Encyclopedia of Religion.