Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence by
Publication Date: 2008-07-31
The Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence is a comprehensive and in-depth reference to the most recent developments in the field covering theoretical developments, techniques, technologies, and applications of systems using intelligent characteristics for adaptability, automation learning, classification, prediction, and even artistic creation,among others.
Ethics, science, technology, and engineering : a global resource by
Publication Date: 2015
This work considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. Includes articles on related materials such as Artificial Intelligence, Cybernetics, and Robotics.
The Cambridge Companion to Literature and the Posthuman by
Publication Date: 2017-01-07
The Cambridge Companion to Literature and the Posthuman is the first work of its kind to gather diverse critical treatments of the posthuman and posthumanism together in a single volume. Fifteen scholars from six different countries address the historical and aesthetic dimensions of posthuman figures alongside posthumanism as a new paradigm in the critical humanities. The three parts and their chapters trace the history of the posthuman in literature and other media, including film and video games, and identify major political, philosophical, and techno-scientific issues raised in the literary and cinematic narratives of the posthuman and posthumanist discourses. The volume surveys the key works, primary modes, and critical theories engaged by depictions of the posthuman and discussions about posthumanism.
The Cambridge Companion to Frankenstein by
Call Number: PR5397.F73 C36 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-25
The Cambridge Companion to Frankenstein consists of sixteen original essays on Mary Shelley's novel by leading scholars, providing an invaluable introduction to Frankenstein and its various critical contexts. Theoretically informed but accessibly written, this volume relates Frankenstein to various social, literary, scientific and historical contexts, and outlines how critical theories such as ecocriticism, posthumanism, and queer theory generate new and important discussion in illuminating ways.
The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction by
Publication Date: 2009-03-30
The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction is a comprehensive overview of the history and study of science fiction. It outlines major writers, movements, and texts in the genre, established critical approaches and areas for future study.
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics by
Publication Date: 2011-11-11
The Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics, Second Edition addresses both the physiological and the psychological aspects of human behavior. Several disciplines may be involved in applied ethics: one branch of applied ethics, for example, bioethics, is commonly explicated in terms of ethical, legal, social, and philosophical issues.
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
Includes entries on science fiction authors, themes, media, and culture. Not a scholarly treatment, but does make comparisons between related science fiction works and themes.
AccessScience (McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.) This link opens in a new window
Includes The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10th edition, McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new window
Considered the most authoritative and comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and other reference works in the humanities and social sciences, published by Oxford University Press.
Connectedness: an Incomplete Encyclopedia of the Anthropocene by
Call Number: GF75 .C67 2020g
Publication Date: 2020-09-15
Views, thoughts, considerations, insights, images, notes and remarks on the Anthropocene .Today we live in what geologists have named the Anthropocene. The Earth has entered a new geological epoch, and the climate crisis is a reality. The crisis is so substantial and complex that our existing knowledge of environmental disasters is insufficient. Without the realization that we, as human beings, are intimately connected to all other kinds of life, we are guilty of a collective sin of omission by ignoring the fundamental connectedness of humanity and nature. We are not just part of the same cycle, we are nature. And since everything affects and is affected by everything else, it seems sufficient to consider the Anthropocene from many perspectives and fields.Connectedness includes a diverse selection of contributions, including Björk, Greta Thunberg, Donna Haraway and Tomas Saraceno, that brings many perspectives and disciplines into the discussion to the crucial period in which we are currently living.
Ideas That Matter by
Call Number: BD21 .G73 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-30
Ideas can, and do, change the world. Just as Marxism, existentialism, and feminism shaped the last century, so fundamentalism, globalization, and bioethics are transforming our world now. In 'Ideas that Matter', renowned philosopher A.C. Grayling provides a personal dictionary of the ideas that will shape our world in the decades to come. With customary wit, fire, and erudition, Grayling ranges across the gamut of essential theories, movements, and philosophies-from animal rights to neurophilosophy to war crimes-provoking and elucidating throughout.Ideas are the cogs that drive history, and in explaining the most complex and influential ones in laymen's terms, 'Ideas that Matter' will help every engaged citizen better understand it.
Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food by
Publication Date: 2010-07-15
The Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food provides users with unprecedented access to nearly 200 entries that cover the entire food system, describing the concepts and processes that are used in the production of raw agricultural materials and food product manufacturing. So that users can locate the information they need quickly without having to flip through pages and pages of content, the encyclopedia avoids unnecessary complication by presenting information in short, accessible overviews. Addresses Environmental Issues & Sustainability in the Context of 21st Century Challenges Edited by a respected team of biotechnology experts, this unrivaled resource includes descriptions and interpretations of molecular biology research, including topics on the science associated with the cloning of animals, the genetic modification of plants, and the enhanced quality of foods. It discusses current and future applications of molecular biology, with contributions on disease resistance in animals, drought-resistant plants, and improved health of consumers via nutritionally enhanced foods.