Manuscripts
- What are Hebrew Manuscripts?
Click through to view a short video about Hebrew manuscripts and their preservation by the National Library of Israel. - Friedberg Jewish Manuscript ProjectFree registration is required. This site provides digital access to manuscripts and early printings as well as other books and documents as they relate to Judaism and Jews.
- Ktiv: International Collection of Digitized Hebrew ManuscriptsProject that aims to provide centralized digital access to the complete corpus of existing Hebrew manuscripts.
Judaic Texts Online
- Bar Ilan's Judaic Library This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Bible and its major commentaries, the Babylonian Talmud with Rashi's commentary and Tosafot, the Jerusalem Talmud, the Mishneh Torah of Maimonides, Shulchan Aruch with commentaries, Midrashim, hundreds of books of Responsa, and the Talmudic Encyclopedia.
- Lieberman Talmud Databank This link opens in a new windowIntegrates the three Judaic studies databases: 1) The Sol and Evelyn Henkind Talmud Text Databank; 2) The Index of Reference Dealing with Talmudic Literature; and 3) Primary Textual Witnesses to Tannaitic Literature. Full text combined search functions allowing researchers to find any word in any of the textual witnesses (Talmud manuscripts, fragments, Geniza manuscripts, and early printed editions) of the Babylonian Talmud and the Tosefta. Includes an index of pinpointed scholarly bibliographic references to a specific chapter and paragraph in the Mishna and Tosefta, and to a folio and page number in the Babylonian Talmud.
- SefariaProvides digital access to major Jewish religious texts. Its digital programing allows for unique visualizations and interfaces that demonstrate, among other things, the interconnections between texts.
- Otzar Hachochma This link opens in a new windowSearchable digital collection of over 90,000 Judaic books, scanned page after page in their original format, encompassing all realms of Judaism from ancient times to the modern period.
- Hebrew and Judeo-Arabic Printing in Baghdad OnlineThe world's foremost private collection of early and rare Hebraica housed in the Valmadonna Trust Library is the basis for this collection. It comprises a resource for the study of oriental printing, Hebrew liturgical history, Judeo-Arabic literature, and the history and culture of the most ancient Jewish Diaspora community. All of these bibliographic treasures are reproduced here for the first time
- Hebrew, Judeo-Arabic, and Marathi Jewish Printing in India OnlineThe Valmadonna Collection of Hebrew and Jewish books from India is a unique resource for the study of oriental printing and lithography, Hebrew poetry and liturgical history, Eastern Judeo-Arabic literature, and the folklore traditions and vernacular writings of the Jews of South Asia. Brill makes the entire corpus of Indian Jewish literature accessible to researchers for the first time
Reference Tools and Indexes for Judaic Texts
- Encyclopedia of Jewish Book Cultures OnlineBeing an encyclopedia on book cultures rather than book contents, this work places textuality and materiality of the book in the center of its investigation. The singularity of the Jewish book can only be understood in full if it is studied in its broader cultural and intercultural context. This encyclopedia does that by focusing on the paleographic features, intended function, cultural significance, readership, acceptance, and design of particular books and genres, as well as the producer-consumer relations involved in the making and circulating of books. It covers more than 2000 years of Jewish book cultures from all corners of the earth.
- Footprints: Jewish Books Through Time and PlaceDatabase that tracks the circulation of printed "Jewish books" (in Hebrew, other Jewish languages, and books in Latin and non-Jewish vernaculars with Judaica contents).
- Index of References Dealing with Talmudic Literature This link opens in a new window
Lists bibliographical references for passages in rabbinic literature and related subjects and connects them to the location within rabbinic literature to which they are related.
- Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament Online This link opens in a new window
- Talmud Yerushalmi Citation Database This link opens in a new windowProvides access to all quotes or references to Talmud Yerushalmi in medieval rabbinic literature, Geniza fragments, and other commentaries. These references provide rich information about any subject addressed in the Talmud Yerushalmi.
- Ma'agarim: The Database of the Historical Dictionary Project This link opens in a new windowA dictionary and concordance which includes the entire Hebrew lexicon throughout its history; presenting Hebrew words in their morphological, semantical, and contextual development from the first appearance in written texts to the present. Sources include the Dead Sea Scrolls, Inscriptions, Talmud and Midrash, Geonic Literature, Prayer and Piyyut, Karaite Literature, Sciences, Deeds, Colophons, Amulets, etc. Updated on a regular basis.
- Otsar ha-Sefer ha-ʻIvri byCall Number: Z7070 .V566 1993Publication Date: 1993-TheThesaurus of the Hebrew Book lists printed Hebrew books by city.
- Textual History of the Bible This link opens in a new window
- DictaProvides several tools to enhance Hebrew text study including Nakdan, which will add nikudot (vocalization) to any modern, poetic or classical Hebrew text, intuitive search engines for the Bible and Talmud, a rabbinic abbreviation expander, a citation finder, and more.
- Base HaSeferAnalytical search engine for the Tanakh (in Hebrew) that embraces a relational database model. Queries are not limited to raw text searches and can even span across multiple categories of interrelated information. Searches incorporate vowels and cantillation, regular expressions and more. Other features include a viewer which displays parallel content panels with Tanakh, Targum Onkelos, and more as well as automated comparisons of multiple sections of text and report tools for word frequencies, word clouds, and an interactive 3D family tree diagram of biblical personalities.
