Skip to main content

Canadian history

Canadian Parliamentary Papers

Canada Gazette  (current issues)

1841 up to the last 5 years: http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/canada-gazette/index-e.html

Official report of the debates of the House of Commons of the Dominion of Canada RECAP 0825.2355 (1875-1951)

House of Commons debates, official report RECAP 0825.2355 (1951-2002)

Official report of debates [microform]. MICROFILM S01822 1846-1874

Debates of the Senate. Débats du Sénat. RECAP 0825.236.2 1869-1983 (incomplete)

Index to Federal Royal Commissions

For more information, see Canadian Parliamentary Publications (University of Toronto libguide)

Canadian foreign relations

Documents on Canadian external relations
Ottawa : Department of External Affairs, 1967-
v. 1. 1909-1918 -- v. 2. The Paris Peace Conference of 1919 -- v. 7-8. 1939-1941 -- v. 9. 1942-1943 -- v. 10-v. 11, pt. 2. 1944-1945 -- v. 12. 1946 -- v. 13. 1947 -- v. 14. 1948 -- v. 15. 1949 -- v. 16. 1950 -- v. 17. 1951 -- v. 18. 1952 -- v. 19. 1953 -- v. 20. 1954 -- v. 21. 1955 -- v. 22-23. 1956-1957 (3 v.) - v. 25, pt. 2 . 1957-1958

Firestone JX351 .A5314 and http://www.international.gc.ca/history-histoire/documents-documents.aspx?lang=eng for more recent volumes.

Canadiana

Early Canadiana
RECAP Microfiche 2090
Printed guide: none, but see http://library.uvic.ca/micro/CIHMhandout.pdf
Princeton is the only institution outside of Canada that holds this very large collection of material printed in Canada before 1920. There is an online version, Early Canadiana Online, but Princeton does not subscribe to it. However, some of the content is available for free: http://eco.canadiana.ca/.

To identify other materials in this collection, search Worldcat for keywords and include CIHM in your search. This will retrieve catalog records from libraries that cataloged the individual titles of the documents within the collection. Note the CIHM number in full -- it may be a 5-digit number, or may begin with 9-, A, or another letter. Armed with that number, you can locate the individual fiche in the CIHM cabinets.

The Canadian papers of the 4th Earl of Minto British Online Archives "a collection of documents that cover his time both as Military Secretary between 1883 and 1886 and as Governor General from 1899 to 1904." From the the National Library of Scotland.

Society, Culture & Politics in Canada: Canadiana Pamphlets from McMaster University, 1818-1929 Archives Unbound

This collection contains pamphlets from McMaster University that deal with many aspects of Canadian history, literature, social and political conditions.

Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers. Colonies: Canada. Shannon, Irish University Press [c1968-71]
Firestone Library (F) Oversize F1031.5 .I757 1968q: 33 v. illus., maps (part col., part fold.), col. plans (part fold.) 35 cm.

Canadian Records in the USPG Archive, 1722-1952 in British Online Archives