General Resources
Statistical Abstracts Indexes statistical publications issued by federal governments, international governmental organizations, and state governments, professional and trade associations, etc.
Bulletin of housing and building statistics for Europe and North America U.N. Economic Commission for Europe.
Global urban indicators databases (U.N. Centre on Human Settlements [HABITAT]) Covers more than 1000 cities. Includes information on housing (affordable housing and housing provision) as well as many other socio-economic indicators.
Statistical agencies (international) (U.S. Bureau of the Census) Links to statistical agencies and their publications.
US Specific
- American Housing Survey. DHUD: National and metropolitan statistics for apartments, single-family homes, mobile homes, vacant homes, family composition, income, housing and neighborhood quality, housing costs, equipment, fuels, size of housing unit, and recent movers. National data are collected every other year, from a fixed sample of about 50,000 homes, plus new construction each year. The survey started in 1973, and has had the same sample since 1985, letting you see homes and households changing over the years.
- Construction Statistics. Census Bureau.
- Housing Affordability. Census Bureau. Find tables detailing Housing Affordability from 2004, 2002, 1995, 1993, and 1991 surveys
- Housing Pattern "Racial and Ethnic Residential Segregation in the United States: 1980-2000" in pdf format.
- Unit Costs from 2000 Census and 2008 American Community Survey.
- Housing Characteristics In The U.S. - Tables From 60 years of the decennial censuses.
- Housing Prices: New Residential Sales: Provides statistics on the sales of new privately-owned single-family residential structures in the U.S. New homes sold data are only available at the national and regional levels. Data included in the press release are:
- * Number of new single-family houses sold
- * Number of new single-family houses for sale
- * U.S. median and average sales prices of new homes sold
- HUD User Data Sets HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
- Disparities in Mortgage Lending and Foreclosures: Maps and Data From the Center for Responsible Lending
