Contents
Core Resources
- Byzantine Studies at Dumbarton OaksNational research center for Byzantine studies located in Washington D. C. maintains a growing list of digital resources.
- Byzantinische BibliographieDatabase of annotated citations from the Byzantinische Zeitschrift from volume 98 (2005) to the present.
- Byzantinische ZeitschriftMünchen: C.H. Beck, 1892-.
(Clas) PA5000 .B9933 (SA) 2500.221 - Digital corpus for Greco-Arabic studiesAssembles a wide range of Greek texts and their Arabic counterparts.
- Modern Language Translations of Byzantine Sources This link opens in a new window
Database of modern language translations of Byzantine primary sources, which can be searched by keyword or browsed using pull-down menus.
- Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium This link opens in a new windowKazhdan, A.P., and A.-M. Talbot, eds. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991.
(DR) (F) (SCG) (SHS) (SH) (SNE) DF521.O93 1991 - Patrologia Graeca This link opens in a new windowParisiorum [France] : J.P. Migne, 1857-1889. 161 v.
(Clas) BR67 .M546 1857
Greek texts relevant to the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. See also Roger Pearse's Patrologia Graeca PDFs for links to other digitizations, often at better resolution. All 161 v. at the Hathi Trust. - Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new windowTexts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE).
Bibliographies
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new windowMain index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals. 1924+
- Byzantinische BibliographieDatabase of annotated citations from the Byzantinische Zeitschrift from volume 98 (2005) to the present.
- Dyabola This link opens in a new windowProjekt Dyabola provides access to the multilingual and regularly updated Archaeological Bibliography, containing book, article and web-based citations from 1956 to the present based on acquisitions at notable archaeological institutes in Europe. Additional resources related to ancient art, archaeology and history are also available. Once in, check the box at the top "activate IP access and press Start".
- Gnomon OnlineIndexes journals in classical philology, ancient history, and archaeology. Based on the journal Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift für die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft. A good supplement to L'Année Philologique since it provides more recent citations.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and other materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700. Includes articles, reviews, bibliographies, catalogs, editions, abstracts, discographies, and notes.
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica: OPACBibliographic database hosted by the MGH but covering Byzantine studies as well.
- Regesta ImperiiBibliographic database covering Byzantine studies hosted by the Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur, Mainz.
Dictionaries
- Epitome of the Kriaras DictionaryCovers volumes I-XIV of E. Kriaras’ Dictionary of Medieval Vulgar Greek Literature (1100-1669), from A - παραθήκη.
- Glossarium Græco-ArabicumLexicon of the medieval Arabic translations from the Greek.
- Greek Lexicon of the Roman and Byzantine Periods (from B.C. 146 to A.D. 1100) byCall Number: (SCG) (SHS) (SH) PA1125 .S6Publication Date: Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, c1887
- Lexiko tes mesaionikes Hellenikes demodous grammateias, 1100-1669 byCall Number: (SHS) PA1129 .K75Publication Date: Thessaolinke: [Typographeia N. Nikolaide], 1968-1997
- Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität: Besonders des 9.-12. JahrhundertsEdited by Erich Trapp. Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, 1994- .
(SHS) Oversize AS142 .V54 A199q Bd.238, etc.
- A Patristic Greek Lexicon byCall Number: (SCG) PA881 .L3 1961 (SHS) (SREL) PA681 .P3 1961Publication Date: Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1961
- Suda on line10th century Byzantine historical encyclopedia derived from the scholia to critical editions of canonical works and from compilations by earlier authors.
- Suidae lexicon byCall Number: (SC) PA5365 .S853 1928; (ReCAP) 2773.1928Publication Date: Lipsiae, in aedibvs B. G. Tevbneri, 1928-385 v.
Encyclopedias
- Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new windowEnglish version of an important German encyclopedia of the ancient world. Divided into 2 sections: Antiquity, which covers the ancient world of Greece and Rome, and the Classical Tradition, which covers the history of classical scholarship. Also available in German.
- Encyclopedia of the Ancient WorldCovers the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE., extending to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt.
- Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium This link opens in a new window
Atlases/Geography
- Ancient World Mapping Center : maps for students50 high-resolution maps of the ancient world freely available for download. See Pleiades for a database of geographic information related to the Greco-Roman world linked to Google Maps.
- Constantinople byzantine : dévelopment urbain et répertoire topographique byCall Number: (SA) 14081.496.1964Publication Date: Paris : Institut Français d’Etudes Byzantines, 1964. 2. éd.
- Mapping Past SocietiesFormerly the Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC). "Allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization."
- La géographie ecclésiastique de l'Empire byzantinPublication Date: Paris: Institut francais d’etudes byzantines, 1953-1981t .1. Notitiae episcopatuum Ecclesiae Constantinopolitanae (1981) (SA) BX410 .N67 1981
t .2. Les églises et les monastères des grands centres byzantins : Bithynie, Hellespont, Latros, Galèsios, Trébizonde, Athènes, Thessalonique (1975) (SA) BX752.T9 J36
t .3. Les églises et les monastères (1953) (F) (SA) BX323 .J35
- Historical Atlas of the Ancient WorldSupplemental volume of Brill's New Pauly. Includes entries related to Byzantium.
- Palgrave Atlas of Byzantine History byCall Number: (F) G1781.S1 H3 2005Publication Date: New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2005
- Tabula Imperii ByzantiniCall Number: (SHS) AS142.V54 A199qPublication Date: Wien : Verlag de Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, 1976-Topographical maps accompanied by text volumes of Byzantine regions. See Dig-TIB (in progress) for an index of the volumes.
Art & Archeology
- Dyabola This link opens in a new windowProjekt Dyabola provides access to the multilingual and regularly updated Archaeological Bibliography, containing book, article and web-based citations from 1956 to the present based on acquisitions at notable archaeological institutes in Europe. Additional resources related to ancient art, archaeology and history are also available. Once in, check the box at the top "activate IP access and press Start".
- Early Christian and Byzantine architecture byCall Number: (SA) NA360 .K871 1986Publication Date: Harmondsworth, Middlesex, England : Penguin Books ; N.Y., N.Y. : Viking Penguin, 1986. 4th ed.
- Early Christian and Byzantine architecture : an annotated bibliography and historiography byCall Number: (SA) Reference Z594.3.C56 K55 1992Publication Date: Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1992
- Early Christian & Byzantine art byCall Number: (SA) N7832 .L69 1997Publication Date: London : Phaidon, 1997
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new windowThe Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century).
- Lexikon der christlichen Ikonographie byCall Number: (SA) Reference N7645 .L4Publication Date: Rom : Herder, 1968-<76>8 v.
- Reallexikon zur byzantinischen KunstCall Number: (SA) Reference N6250 .W5Publication Date: Stuttgart : Anton Hiersemann, 1963-6 v.
- TypikaSearchable database of "Artefacts and Raw Materials in Byzantine Archival Documents / Objets et matériaux dans les documents d'archives byzantins." Hosted by the Université de Fribourg - Suisse.
Law
- Annotated Justianian Code (and Novels)English translation of the Codex and Novels by Fred H. Blume, an attorney and Wyoming Supreme Court Justice. Completed in 1952. An expanded print edition of the Codex based on this translation, with commentary:
The Codex of Justinian : a new annotated translation, with parallel Latin and Greek text based on a translation by Justice Fred H. Blume / Bruce W. Frier, General Editor
Call number: (SC) KJA1192.2 2016 - Basilica OnlineFully-searchable online edition of the 17 volumes of the Basilica text and its scholia, as edited between 1945 and 1988 by H.J. Scheltema, D. Holwerda, and N. van der Wal.
- Basilicorum libri LXCall Number: (SHS) KJA1412.2 1953Publication Date: Groningen : J.B. Wolters, 1953-
- Corpus Juris Civilis byCall Number: (SCL) KJA1082.2 .C677 1954 (Clas) KBD .C67 1904 (SH) KJA1068.G3 C67 1970Publication Date: Berlin: Weidmann, 1970-1972
- The Digest of Justinian byCall Number: (Clas) KJA1112.2 1998 and (SC) KBD .D5313 1985Publication Date: Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania, 1985, 1998 (rev. ed.)2 v.
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Roman LawBerger, A. Union, NJ: Lawbook Exchange, 2002.
Call number: (Clas) KJA56 .B47 2002
- Jus graecoromanum byCall Number: (SHS) KJA1355 .J87 1962Publication Date: Aalen : Scientia, 1962.8 v.
t. 1. Nearai kai chrysovoulla tōn meta ton Ioustinianon Vyzantinōn autokratorōn -- 2. Nomothesia Isaurōn kai Makedonōn -- t. 3. Theophilou antikēnsoros ta institouta -- t. 4. Peira Eustathiou tou Rōmaiou : Epitomē nomōn -- t. 5. Synopsis tōn vasilikōn -- t. 6. Ēyxēmenē eklogē -- t. 7. Ēyxēmenon procheiron -- t. 8. Kōdix politikos tou Prinkipatou tēs Moldavias. 
The Novels of Justinian by Call Number: (F) (SHS) KJA1216 .E5 2018ISBN: 9781107000926Publication Date: 2018-11-15The novels comprise a series of laws issued in the sixth century by the famous Emperor Justinian (r.527-65), along with a number of measures issued by his immediate successors on the throne of Constantinople. They reveal the evolution of Roman law at the end of antiquity and how imperial law was transmitted to both the Byzantine East and Latin West in the Early Middle Ages. Crucially, the texts cast fascinating light on how litigants of all social backgrounds sought to appropriate the law and turn it to their advantage, as well as on topics ranging from the changing status of women to the persecution of homosexuals, and from the spread of heresy to the economic impact of the first known outbreak of bubonic plague. This work represents the first English translation of the novels based on the original Greek, and comes with an extensive historical and legal commentary.
- Roman Law LibraryHandy and searchable collection of primary Roman law texts.
- Roman Law Resources"... provides information on Roman law sources and literature, the teaching of Roman law, and the persons who study Roman law."
- The Theodosian Code and Novels, and the Sirmondian ConstitutionsTranslated with commentary, glossary, and bibliography by Clyde Pharr, in collaboration with Theresa Sherrer Davidson and Mary Brown Pharr; introduction by C. Dickerman Williams. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1952.
Call number: (Clas) (SCL) Oversize KJA456 .E545 1952q
- Theodosian Code: NovelsSearchable Word document of the Latin text. Thank you Merle Eisenberg.
Literature
- Digital Encyclopedia of AtticismDatabase of lexicographic entries drawn from "ancient 'dictionaries' that collect linguistic features to be cultivated or avoided in correct Greek."
- Geschichte der byzantinischen Litteratur von Justinian bis zum Ende des oströmischen Reiches, 527-1453 byCall Number: (Clas) (SHS) PA5110 .K786 1897 (SA) 2507.43.91.11Publication Date: München : C. H. Beck, 1897. 2. Aufl.
- Geschichte der byzantinischen Volksliteratur byCall Number: (Clas) (SHS) DF505.8 .B993 1900z T.2 Bd.3Publication Date: München : Beck, 1971
- A history of Byzantine literature, 650-850 byCall Number: (F) (SHS) PA5110 .K2 1999Publication Date: Athens : National Hellenic Research Foundation Institute for Byzantine Research, 1999
- A history of Byzantine literature. 850-1000 byCall Number: (F) (SHS) PA5110 .K23 2006Publication Date: Athens : National Hellenic Research Foundation, Institute for Byzantine Research, 2006
- Die hochsprachliche profane Literatur der Byzantiner byCall Number: (Clas) (SHS) DF505.8 .B993 1900z T.5Publication Date: München : Beck, 19782 v.
- Kirche und theologische Literatur im Byzantinischen Reich byCall Number: (Clas) (SHS) DF505.8.B993 1900z T.2 Bd.1Publication Date: München : Beck, 1959
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new windowTexts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE).
History
- Achives de l’AthosCall Number: (SHS) various call numbersPublication Date: Paris : P. Lethielleux, 1937-22 v. (ongoing). Collection of archival documents from monasteries on Mount Athos. Perhaps the richest extant source of official Byzantine state records.
- Acta et diplomata Graeca medii aevi sacra et profanaMiklosich, F. & Müller, J. Aalen : Scientia Verlag, 1968. 6 v.
(SHS) DF601 .xA23 1968
Important collection of imperial, patriarchal, provincial and monastic acts. (The above Hathi Trust link does not include v. 2, which is available from Google Books) - Corpus Scriptorum Historiae Byzantinae (Bonn corpus)Links to the Internet Archive and Google digitizations of this famous set of primary sources.
- Digital corpus for Greco-Arabic studiesAssembles a wide range of Greek texts and their Arabic counterparts.
- Mesaionike vivliothekeSathas, K. ed. En Venetia : Typois tou Chronou, 1872-94. 7 v.
(F) DF503 .S27 1972
Collection of Byzantine letters, funeral orations, court documents, etc. - New Cambridge Medieval HistoryCambridge : Cambridge University Press, 1995-2005. 7 v.
- Regesten der Kaiserurkunden des oströmischen Reiches von 565-1453 byCall Number: (F) DF503 .xD6 1976Publication Date: Hildesheim : H. A. Gerstenberg, 1976-5 v. Short descriptions in chronological order of Byzantine imperial documents with detailed citation to their source and tradition.
- Les Regestes des actes du Patriarcat de Constantinople byCall Number: (F) BX410 .R4 1932Publication Date: Constantinopol : Socii Assumptionistae Chalcedonenses, 1932-19927 v. Chronological list of patriarchal acts.
- Vyzantinōn vios kai politismos byCall Number: (SHS) DF521 .K685 1948Publication Date: En Athēnais, 1948-19525 v. Indispensable source of primary source citations on all aspects of Byzantine social history.
Patristics/Hagiography
- Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new windowCollection saint's lives, organized according to each saint's feast day, & covers the 2 January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. Only complete print set at Princeton is housed at the Index for Christian Art.
- Bibliotheca hagiographica graeca byCall Number: (SHS) Z7844 .B535 1957 (ReCAP) 0434.176.11Publication Date: Bruxelles : Société des Bollandistes, 19573 v.
- Calendar of Saints in Byzantine Manuscripts and FrescosLois Drewer's unpublished book presented as database by the Index of Medieval Art, "intended to be a reference work on illustrated calendars of saints in Byzantine manuscripts and frescoes."
- Clavis Patrum GraecorumCall Number: (SHS) Z7751 .G4Publication Date: Turnhout : Brepols, 1974-19986 v.
- Dumbarton Oaks Hagiography DatabaseIncludes information from the Greek vitae and martyria of one hundred and nineteen saints of the 8th-10th c., accounts of the translations of their relics, and collections of miracles, as well as notices from the Synaxarion of Constantinople (a 10th-century liturgical collection of brief hagiographical notices.
- Hagiography of the Later Byzantine Period (1204-1453)Database of hagiographic texts developed and maintainted by the Institute of Byzantine Studies at the National Research Institute in Athens.
- Holy Women of Byzantium: Ten Saints' Lives in English TranslationEdited by Alice-Mary Talbot.
- Patrologia Graeca This link opens in a new windowParisiorum [France] : J.P. Migne, 1857-1889. 161 v.
(Clas) BR67 .M546 1857Greek texts relevant to the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
- Patrology byCall Number: (Clas) BR67 .Q378 1953Publication Date: Utrecht : Spectrum, 1953-19864 v.
- Translations of Byzantine Saints’ LivesList maintained at Dumbarton Oaks.
Prosopography
- Prosopography of the Later Roman Empire byCall Number: (SC) DG203.5 .J6 1971Publication Date: Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1971-1992v. 1. 260-395CE -- v. 2 395-527CE -- v. 3 527-641 CE (2 v.)
- Prosopographie der mittelbyzantinischen Zeit Online This link opens in a new windowBiographical dictionary of the Byzantine Empire covering the years 641-1025 AD.
Call number: (SHS) DF506 .P767 1998
- Prosopography of the Byzantine WorldCovers the period 1025-1150 CE, as a continuation of The Prosopography of the Later Roman Empire (covering the period 260-641 C.E) and the Prosopographie der mittelbyzantinischen Zeit.
- Prosopographisches Lexikon der Palaiologenzeit byCall Number: (SHS) Oversize DF506 .T7qPublication Date: Wien : Verl. d. Österr. Akad. d. Wiss., 1976-199612 fasc.
Manuscripts
- PinakesDescriptive database of Greek manuscripts hosted by the Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes.
- Digitized Greek manuscriptsSimple database linking to images and descriptions of all fully digitized Greek manuscripts.
- Classical Text EditorAllows scholars working on a critical edition, a text with commentary, or a translation to prepare a camera-ready copy or electronic publication.
- Database of Byzantine Book EpigramsProvides "textual and contextual data of book epigrams (or: metrical paratexts) from medieval Greek manuscripts (seventh to fifteenth century)."
- Dumbarton Oaks: Manuscripts on Microfilm DatabaseDumbarton Oaks' Research Library holds more than 2000 microfilm reels of medieval and early modern manuscripts.
- Greek Codicology/PaleographyComprehensive annotated bibliography by Immaculada Pérez Martín from Oxford Bibliographies Online.
- Greek Paleography: From Antiquity to the RenaissanceComprehensive tutorial created by Timothy Janz.
- Printed Catalogs OnlineList of online Greek manuscript catalogs maintained at Dumbarton Oaks.
Numismatics/Seals
- American Numismatic Society's MANTIS: ByzantineThe ANS collections database contains information on more than 600,000 objects in the Society’s collections. These include, coins, paper money, tokens, ‘primitive’ money, medals and decorations, from all parts of the world, and all periods in which such objects have been produced.
- Byzantine coinageGrierson, P. Washington, D.C. : Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, c1999. 2nd ed.
Call number: (F) CJ1229 .G698 1999
- Byzantine lead seals byCall Number: (SA) CD5381 .Z3 (ReCAP) Oversize 1028.991qPublication Date: Basel; [distributed by J. J. Augustin, Glückstadt, West.-Ger.] 1972-c1985
- A collection of dated Byzantine lead seals byCall Number: (SHS) CD5381 .O56 1986Publication Date: Washington, D.C. : Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, c1986
- Le corpus des sceaux de l'empire byzantin byCall Number: (SA) 1028.567.3Publication Date: Paris : Éditions du centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1963-1981v. 2 & 5 (no more published)
- Online Catalogue of Byzantine CoinsDatabase of the 12,000 Byzantine coins held by Dumbarton Oaks.
- Online Catalogue of Byzantine SealsOngoing project to record and publish the 17,000 Byzantine lead seals held by Dumbarton Oaks.
Contact the Byz. Studies Librarian
David Jenkins
Contact:
A-15J-2 Firestone Library
(609) 258-5811
Office hours: Mondays 11:00-12:00pm, Tuesdays 2:00-4:00pm
Schedule an appointment
(609) 258-5811
Office hours: Mondays 11:00-12:00pm, Tuesdays 2:00-4:00pm
Schedule an appointment