Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CEE 262: Structures and the Urban Environment: Putting it all together

A guide to library resources that address technical, social and symbolic aspects of structures.

The writing process

 

Documenting your research
Writing style
The Elements of Style, by William Strunk, Jr.
   

Endnote and RefWorks


Managing your bibliographic references with EndNote, RefWorks or Zotero

Endnote and RefWorks are bibliographic managers which enable you to create a searchable databases, or "libraries," from references you find in online catalogs, indexes, etc. These programs also interact with your Microsoft Word documents to automatically format your references and create a footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies in any citation style you choose.

Zotero is a free bibliographic citation management software that allows you to save, collect, manage, cite, and share research sources. Zotero is available either as a Firefox extension or as standalone software that works with Chrome and Safari browsers. It works right in your browser, making it easy to save you citations while you search.


Princeton supports Zotero, EndNote and Refworks. Endnote is available for purchase at an educational rate from the Princeton Software Repository (and also on most cluster computers); all Princeton users are eligible to sign up for a Refworks account at http://www.refworks.com/.


Which bibliographic manager is right for me?


Refworks and Zotero are generally viewed as easier to use than EndNote. RefWorks is a web based service (rather than needing to be installed), making it fully "portable." Updates to the program are served to the user automatically, since it is web-based. It is also good for group work since members of the group can have access to the same account/files. Endnote is a well-established and very robust program, and ideal for a dissertation or book- level document. Endnote must be installed on your computer, and updates (and patches) must be obtained from the company.


How can I get additional help/training in one of these software packages?

  1. Review the information posted on the library website.
  2. Attend one of the Zotero,  EndNote and RefWorks  training sessions.
  3. Email coach@princeton.edu

Librarian

Profile Photo
Willow Dressel
Contact:
Engineering Library
Fine Hall, Princeton University
Email: wdressel@princeton.edu
Engineering Library Website
609-258-6567
Website