Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CEE 262: Structures and the Urban Environment: Images and Multimedia Resources

A guide to library resources that address technical, social and symbolic aspects of structures.

Images

Library of Congress American Memory Project: A gateway to 9 million digitized items organized into 100 thematic collections from the Library of Congress’s vast resources that document U.S. history and culture. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Of particular interest to architecture are the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections.

Artstor digital image collection with more than 1,000,000 images in a wide variety of disciplines including architecture, art, humanities, and the social sciences. Architecture specific collections include the Archivision Library Suite of images including architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, archaeology, art and art history images; Harthill Archive of Architecture and Allied ArtsQTVR Panoramas of World Architecture; Contemporary Architecture, Urban Design, and Public Art Collection; and the Museum of Modern Art: Architecture and Design collection.  

Masters of Architecture An ongoing series of 7000+ digital images from Pidgeon Audiovisual and World Microfilms. The charter collection consists of images digitized from the original collection of 58 slide sets belonging to architects and published between the mid 80s and 2003. Slide collections are added on a regular basis.

Pidgeon Digital The online version of The Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of talks by contemporary architects and related designers. The collection was founded in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon (long-time editor of the influential magazine Architectural Design) and lectures are continually added.

Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog Searchable catalog; many of the images have been digitized.

Princeton University Digital Library Collection of high resolution digital images of selected materials from the library's collections.
 

Images must be cited like all other resources. If you use an image you did not create, you must provide a citation. Images should be cited in all cases, even if the image is very small, or in the public domain. The citation should be accessible in the context of the image's use (within a Powerpoint presentation, on a web page, in a paper, etc.). Image citations should include the following information at a minimum:

  • Title
  • Creator name
  • Repository information (museum, library, or other owning institution)
  • Image source (database, website, book, postcard, vendor, etc.)
  • Date accessed

It is also useful to include date and rights information, if known.

Citations can be formatted according to the citation style you are using.

Moving Images

Engineering Case Studies Online  comprehensive source for a wide range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes.

AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive Contains the current year's photo report from the Associated Press & a selection of more than 700,000 images from their negative & print library dating from the 1840s.

American History in Video Newsreels from the 20th century, plus television and movie documentaries on American history.

Internet Archive: is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 276 billion archived web pages. Of particular note is the Prelinger Archive, which includes are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive Covers U.S. network news since 1968.