Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Before diving into a specialized subject database, you might want to try a broad interdisciplinary database, like our new Articles+ service which searches across multiple databases for scholarly articles, magazine articles or news items.
Use the Search Refining features to limit results by subject terms, publication date and publication type.
General and multidisciplinary resources
Encyclopedias are always a good starting point for any research. AccessScience, The McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology combines review articles, with recent research updates, biographical information and a dictionary. Handbooks are concise reference books that provide specific information about a subject. Biographical sources should be consulted when researching designers, engineers, architects or in general any expert or innovator.
For worldwide business and economic information use ABI/Inform.
Browse the library's newspaper collections for in-depth news coverage (both current and historical).
If multidisciplinary databases don't bring in the desired results, browse the listings of databases under specific subjects, such as Architecture, Environment or Engineering & Technology to identifiy the best place to search for journal articles.
A few starting points for searching specific aspects (technical, social, environmental) related to structures or urban developments, are suggested below:
- Compendex or Engineering Index - this is an extensive bibliographic database of engineering literature. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings published since 1884 to date. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.
- For civil engineering literature, browse or search the publications of the Institute of Civil Engineers (UK) and of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE Research Library).
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1930s+) Indexes journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
- Urban Studies Abstracts (1973+) Covers urban affairs, community development, urban history, etc.
- Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE full-text collection (1950+). Covers subjects as Economic Development, Planning Practice and Theory, Policy Analysis, Political Science, Public Administration, Regional Geography, Residential and Community Development, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Urban Policy, and Welfare Economics.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management - Compilation of 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately. There are simultaneously-performed searches on very current literature, and the Internet for websites.
- GreenFile - Includes well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Other useful resources can be found in:
- Bibliography of the History of Art (1975-2007) - Indexes and abstracts articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
- International Bibliography of Art (2007 - Present) - a continuation of the Bibliography of the History of Art
- Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (1913+) - General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.
When searching databases, look for the FindIt@PUL button. This will lead you to a menu of options for acquiring the specific paper or article. You may be able to download the full-text immediately, or to submit an Interlibrary Loan request if the Main Catalog gives no results.