Skip to main content

Slavery and Abolition

BOA

British Online Archives features a wide range of items to those researching the slave trade in the West Indies and territories colonized by the British including America, India, Africa, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia. 

Slave Trade and/or West Indies Plantations

The Archives of the Associates of Dr. Bray to 1900 (Part 12) "The body of records consists primarily of correspondence files, minute books and financial reports for the institution established by Dr Thomas Bray and his associates. The files concern the organisation of the Associates up to 1900, and include annual reports.  Of particular interest in this collection is the material on the Associates' activities in North America, including Canada, and in the Bahamas, both in the establishment and running of their Negro Schools and in the grant of library books."


Jamaican material in the Slebech Papers (Part 4) The collection represents a major resource for research into the social and economic history of West Indies, slavery, plantations and trade.


Liverpool Customs Bills of Entry, 1820-1900 (Part 16) "The Livepool Customs Bills of Entry were printed broadsheets designed to provide factual information - primarily statistics - for merchants and other interested parties to keep abreast of the flow of commerce into and out of the port."


Papers of the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the West Indies, 1694-1709 (Part 6) The collection provides "a detailed and comprehensive record of the systems and processes by which European colonization and trade might be spread."


The Papers of William Davenport & Co., 1745-1797 (Part 3) "William Davenport was a Liverpool merchant and British slave trader. From the late 1740s till the early 1790s, he invested regularly in the African slave trade and was a partner in slaving ventures with other leading merchant Liverpool families."


Papers relating to the Jamaican estates of the Goulburn family of Betchworth House (Part 5) "These documents deal with the history of Amity Hall plantation, a sugar estate in Vere Parish, Jamaica, and some associated properties (principally Bogue livestock pen) while they were in the hands of the Goulburn family." 


Records relating to the slave trade at the Liverpool Record Office (Part 1) "These primary sources preserved at the Liverpool Record Office constitute one of the best collections in British archives of private merchants' papers relating to the transatlantic slave trade."


Tudway of Wells Antiguan estate papers, 1689-1907 (Part 17) "The Tudway of Wells papers are the most complete surviving private records pertaining to an Antiguan Sugar plantation.  A combination of statistical ledgers and narrative correspondence yields quantitative and qualitative information to the researcher."


West Indies material in the archives of the USPG, 1710-1950 (Part 11) "These archives mostly consist of letters exchanged between the Secretary of the SPG and the missionaries and school teachers sent out by the Society, together with some official correspondence with government ministers, giving some indication not only of the activities of the SPG but also of the scope and nature of the work."