Skip to main content

Slavery and Abolition

Digital collections

Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922

Full text of more than 12,000 printed works, including lesser known imprints published from the early 16th to the early 20th century.

American Broadsides and Ephermera, Series I

American History and Culture Online - Sabin Americana Digital Archive

Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

Black Abolitionist Papers

Primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.

Early American Imprints - Evans Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period,1639-1800.

Early American Imprints - Shaw-Shoemaker Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the early 19th century. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period, 1801-1819.

Slavery Abolition and Social Justice

Brings together original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. It includes significant coverage of slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.  Also includes material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, and part III: The Institution of SlaverySlavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, and the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century.

This database contains:

  • 2.6 million cross-searchable pages: 11969 books, 158 serials, 52 manuscript collections and 377 supreme court records and briefs
  • Newly commissioned essays, links to websites, biographies, chronology and bibliographies; reference materials from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias
  • Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

Comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. A variable (Source) cites the records for each voyage in the database. Other variables enable users to search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, or on a timeline.

Microfilm collections: slavery and the slave trade

*Printed guides to accompany microfilm are housed in Microform Services on A-floor in Firestone Library.


Miscellaneous slavery collection, 1700-1885.     Finding Aid

Princeton University.  Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection (MSS) C1210  

Consists of an open collection of correspondence and documents related to slavery in America, Africa, South America, and the Caribbean area in the 17th through 19th centuries. Among the documents included is a manuscript copy (1830) of the 1st American census conducted in 1790, with statistics for slaves in each state, and several bills-of-sales for slaves.

Papers of the American Slave Trade

ReCap Microfilm 10617     E-guide       Printed guide: (FilmB) E445.R4 P363          53 reels

This material "documents the international slave trade in Britain's New World colonies and the United States from 1718 to the trade's demise after 1808."

Race, Slavery and Free Blacks: Petitions to Southern Legislatures, 1777-1867

ReCap Microfilm 10695      E-guide           Printed guide: (FilmB) E441.R323          23 reels

This collection consists of petitions by slaves and free persons of color to local legislatures. The petitions were selected from those files at county courthouses in Georgia, Florida, Alabama, and Mississippi.

Slave Rebellion Trials CO137/185

Uncataloged                              Printed guide: none          2 reels

Material from the UK National Archives, CO 137, Jamaica Correspondence, relating to the slave rebellion trials of 1832.

Slave Trade, 1858-1892: British Foreign Office Collection 541

ReCap Microfilm 03157             Printed guide: (FilmB) HT1162.G8          10 reels

Consists of correspondence and reports of British officials in Africa, the Caribbean, and elsewhere, from the Foreign Office confidential print.

Slave Trade Journals and Papers. Pt. 1. The Humphrey Morice Papers from the Bank of England, London

ReCap Microfilm 11775        E-guide     Printed guide: (FilmB) HT1161.M674     4 reels                                                    

Papers of Humphrey Morice, a prominent British slave trader of the 18th century.

Slavery Source Material and Critical Literature

ReCap Microfiche 199         E-guide      Printed guide: (Film B) HT857.S528          11,949 microfiche         

Large collection of primary source documents on slavery in the United States. All works are cataloged in the library's Main Catalog.

Slavery Tracts and Pamphlets from the West India Committee Collection

ReCap Microfilm 05622       Printed guide: (FilmB) HT1071.S52          28 reels

Consists of pamphlets on the sugar trade and slavery in the West Indies.

Southern Historical Manuscripts

ReCap Microfiche 848               Printed guide: none          526 microfiche

From original plantation records in the collection of Louisiana State University, Dept. of Archives and Manuscripts (Baton Rouge).

State Slavery Statutes

ReCap Microfiche 1887 Printed guide: (FilmB) KF4545.S5 A127 1989          354 microfiche

"This master record of the laws governing American slavery, covering the years 1789 to 1865, assembles ... the texts of more than 7,000 slavery-related statutes and constitutional articles and amendments from the 11 slaveholding states that formed the Confederate States of America, plus four border states. Materials in the collection cover virtually every aspect of the regulation of blacks of the period."