Skip to main content

Slavery and Abolition

Slave narratives: digital, microfilm, and print collections

The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography, edited by George P. Rawick.  (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1972-1979) (F) E444 .A447 1972 with suppl. 1 and 2 

v.1. From Sundown to sunup.—v.2. South Carolina narratives, part 1 and part 2.—v.4. Texas narratives, part 1 and part 2.—v.6. Alabama and Indiana narratives.-- v.7. Oklahoma and Mississippi narratives.-- v.8. Arkansas narratives, part 1 and part 2.—v.9. Arkansas narratives, part 3 and part 4.—v.10. Arkansas narratives, part 5 and part 6.—v.11. Arkansas narratives, part 7 and Missouri narratives.—v.12. Georgia narratives.--v.13. Georgia narratives, part 3 and part4.—v.14. North Carolina narratives, part 1.--v.15. North Carolina narratives, part 2.--v.16. Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Virginia and Tennessee.--v.17. Florida narratives.

Volumes below are not yet available in electronic format. Location: (F) E444 .A447 1972

v. 4 and v.5. Texas narratives, part 1 and 2, part 3 and 4

v. 18. Unwritten history of slavery (Fisk University)

v. 19. God struck me dead (Fisk University)

Suppl. 1: 1. Alabama narratives.--v. 2. Arkansas, Colorado, Minnesota, Missouri, and Oregon and Washington narratives.--v. 3. Georgia narratives, part 1.--v. 4. Georgia narratives, part 2.--v. 5.Indiana and Ohio narratives.--v. 6. Mississippi narratives, part 1.--v. 7. Mississippi narratives, part 2.--v. 8. Mississippi narratives, part 3.--v. 9. Mississippi narratives, part 4.--v. 10. Mississippi narratives, part 5.--v. 11. North Carolina and South Carolina narratives.--v. 12. Oklahoma narratives

Suppl.  2: v. 1. Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington narratives.--v. 2. Texas narratives, part 1.—v.3. Texas narratives.—v.4. Texas narratives, part 3.—v.5. Texas narratives, part 4.—v.6.Texas narratives, part 5.—v.7. Texas narratives, part 6.-- v. 8. Texas narratives, part 7.-- v 9. Texas narratives, part 8.—v.10. Texas narratives, part 9.

American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology

“This web site provides an opportunity to read a sample of these narratives, and to see some of the photographs taken at the time of the interviews. The entire collection of narratives can be found in George P. Rawick, ed., The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1972-79) (F) E444 .A447 1972

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writer’s Project, 1936-1938.

Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

Documentating the American South: North American Slave Narratives

"North American Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920.

Slave Narratives, A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves

ReCap Microfilm 1083.341          11 reels

Collection of first-person accounts of slavery, prepared by the Federal Writers' project, 1936-1938. Narratives were digitized by the Library of Congress as part of the American Memory Project.  Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writer’s Project, 1936-1938.

Southern University. John B. Cade Library.Slave Narratives Collection - Opinions Regarding Slavery: Slave Narratives. 1822-1865

"The archives are a series of letters and documents of interviews with slaves that focus on the thoughts of slaves about slave owners, abuse, clothing, religious life, superstitions and religion in their communities."  See also, John B. Cade, "Out of the Mouths of Ex-Slaves," Journal of Negro History, volume 20, number 3 (July 1935), pp.294-337.

Voices from the Days of Slavery

“Twenty-three interviewees, born between 1823 and the early 1860s, discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom.  It is important to note that all of the interviewees spoke sixty or more years after the end of their enslavement, and it is their full lives that are reflected in these recordings.”