Skip to main content

Slavery and Abolition

Digital collections

African American Heritage    

Primary sources devoted specifically to African American family history, including U.S Federal Census (African Americans only), Freedman's Bank Records, World War I Draft Cards, African American family history books, U.S. Colored Troops Records, vital records, church records, legal records, and more.

African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998    

Full-text collection of African American newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century  (1827-1882)  

Complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995    

Online collection of academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other diverse periodicals. 

Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922

Full text of more than 12,000 printed works, including lesser known imprints published from the early 16th century to the early 20th century.

American Broadsides and Ephermera, Series I

America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)

Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.

American History & Culture Online  (1500-1926)

Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

Black Abolitionist Papers  

Primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.

Black Thought and Culture

Full-text collection of published non-fiction works is included, as well as interviews, journal articles, letters, and other materials of leading African-Americans. Biographical essays by leading scholars and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database are also featured.

Early American Imprints (1639-1800)

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Early American Imprints (1801-1819)

Digital library of works published in America in the early 19th century. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Evans Digital Edition  (1639-1800)

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920  

Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.

HarpWeek

Electronic access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912.

Heritage Quest

Includes all of the images, & extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. Offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories & over 12,000 local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries  

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Colonial-1950)

Full text database of women's personal writings.

Proquest Congressional (1789+)

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings, committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916 to the present, U.S. Serial Set from 1789-1969, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873-1997.

Slavery Abolition and Social Justice

Brings together original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. It includes significant coverage of slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.  Also includes material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, and part III: The Institution of SlaverySlavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, and the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century.

This database contains:

  •   2.6 million cross-searchable pages: 11969 books, 158 serials, 52 manuscript collections and 377 supreme court records and briefs.
  •   Newly commissioned essays, links to websites, biographies, chronology and bibliographies; reference materials from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.
  •   Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions.