Skip to main content

Russian Cinema: A Research Guide: Journals and Articles

This guide is intended to serve as an introduction to Russian and Soviet cinema from its beginnings to the present day.

About This Page

This page provides information on how to access the best journalism about Russian and Eastern European film, including reviews, critical essays, and scholarly articles.  It also includes information about certain primary sources on Russian and Soviet cinema.  For information about finding scholarly articles on Russian, Eastern European, and Eurasian topics generally, please visit the Journal Articles page of the Russian and Eurasian Studies LibGuide. 

New Articles on Russian and Eastern European Cinema

Loading

Russian and Soviet Film Periodicals

SCHOLARLY

Iskusstvo kino.  Moskva: Zhurnal "Iskusstvo kino," 1936-  (F) PN1993.I858 

Iskusstvo kino.  (Available via EastView's Universal Database of Russian National Bibliography.)

Iskusstvo kino.  (Available via free eJournals.)

The standard Soviet/Russian journal of film theory and criticism.  PUL's print holdings cover 1970 to 2003 with some gaps.  EastView's electronic version covers 1951 to 1962 and 1971 to 2011 with some gaps.  Free eJournals' electronic version covers 1997 to the present.

Kinovedcheskie zapiski.  Moskva: Vsesoiuznyi nauch.-issled. in-t kinoiskusstva Goskino SSSR, 1988-  (F) PN1993.K547

Journal of Soviet/Russian film scholarship.  PUL's print holdings cover the first issue to the present with some gaps.  Latest issues in the Periodicals Reading Room on A Floor.

Kinostsenarii.  M.: Goskino SSSR, 1973-  (F) PG3273.K55

Publishes screenplays and primary source materials having to do with film.  PUL's print holdings cover 1973 to the present with some gaps.  Latest issues in the Periodicals Reading Room on A Floor.

Seans.  SPb: Kinostudiia 'Lenfil'm,' 1990-  (F) PN1993.5.R9 S347q

Seans.  (Available via free eJournals.)

A journal of contemporary film.  PUL's print holdings cover 1992-1994.  The electronic version covers 1990 to the present.

POPULAR

Sovetskii ekran.  Moskva: Soiuz rabotnikov kinematografii SSSR, 1956-1990.  (F) PN1993.5.R9 S682q

Ekran.  Moskva: Izd-vo KPSS "Pravda," 1991-1998.  (F) PN1993.5.R9 E337q

Popular magazine devoted to Soviet film.  PUL's print holdings cover 1989 to 1990.  In 1991 changed its title to Ekran and continued until 1998.  PUL's print holdings cover 1991 to 1998 with some gaps.

REVIEWS

Most of the periodicals above include reviews of contemporary films, either from an academic or a popular perspective.  For more film reviews, try:

Letopis' retsenzii.  M.: Vsesoiuznaia knizhnaia palata, 1934-  (FILM) S01335

Letopis' retsenzii.  (Available via East View's Universal Database of Russian National Bibliography.) 

The official index of reviews published by Soviet and Russian periodicals, including movie reviews.  PUL's microfilm holdings cover 1934 to 1938.  The electronic version covers 1998 to the present.

ENGLISH-LANGUAGE JOURNALS ON RUSSIAN AND SOVIET FILM

Studies in Russian & Soviet cinema.  Bristol: Intellect, 2007-  (F) PN1993.5.R9 S78

Studies in Russian & Soviet cinema.  (Available via EBSCOhost OmniFile Full Text Mega.)

Journal on the cinema of the Russian Empire, the Soviet Union, and the Russian Federation; issued three times a year.  PUL's print holdings cover the first issue to the present.  Latest issues in the Periodicals Reading Room on A Floor.  The electronic version covers the first issue to the present.

Early Film Journalism and Sources in the Russian Empire/Soviet Union

For access to the earliest in Russian Imperial and Soviet film writing, check out the following resources:

Soviet cinema: film periodicals, 1918-1942.

Covers forty film journals and newspapers from the earliest period of Soviet film.  For information on the microfilm in the Princeton University Library, including a PDF with a list of the titles included, click here.  Digital version is here.  Digital version can be searched and browsed at the journal level (not at the article level).

Soviet cinema: archival documents from RGALI, 1923-1935.

Digitized collection of primary sources relating to the early years of Soviet cinema.  This link will take you to a finding aid with information about the documents and their provenance.  Documents can be downloaded in DjVu or PDF format.  Finding aid can be read in English or Russian.

Early Russian cinema, 1907-1918: the Russian cinematographic press, 1907-1918.  Parts 1-3.

Covers twenty-four film journals and newspapers from Russian Imperial film.  For information on the microfilm in the Princeton University Library, click here.

Screen and stage: the Russian cinematographic and theater press, 1889-1919.

Includes film and theater criticism and journalism.  Digital version is here.  Digital version can be searched and browsed at the journal level.

Eastern European Film Periodicals

Kwartalnik filmowy.  Warszawa: Panstwowy Instytut Sztuki, 1951-  (Available from Chadwick FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus).

Polish film quarterly.  Electronic version covers 2005 to 2011.

Kino.  Warszawa: Wydawn. Czasopism RSW "Prasa-Ksiazka-Ruch," 1966-  (Available from Chadwick FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus.)

Monthly devoted to Polish cinema.  Electronic version covers 2006 to 2008. 

Online Journals of Russian and Eastern European Film