Skip to main content

General searching techniques: Full text Book Searching

Resources for research in Evolution & the Behavior of the Sexes

SearchIt [All]@ PUL & Ebrary

Click on the tab [ALL] in the SearchIt@PUL section.  This is really our homage to Google.  Do keep in mind that it is in beta testing mode, but the ALL button should search to Princeton University Library full text subscriptions.

Ebrary, a collection of scholarly full text books is separately searchable as a database unto itself.

Google Books

One can also search magazines by way of a Google book search:

http://books.google.com/advanced_book_search?lr=&as_brr=0&as_pt=MAGAZINES

HathiTrust

Note: From the Public Collections or My Collections tabs, login using your Princeton ID to see public PDFs.
Digital repository of materials from member libraries.  Most of the full text resources will be pre-1923, in the public domain.
There will be exceptions, especially one should have access to those books also physically in our collection.

In addition to the full text of many journals, most with a delay of 3 to 5 years, JSTOR has now begun to add the full text of books, some very current.  The announcement below is from Frank Smith of JSTOR, 10/26/2016:

"We are pleased to announce a new program to make Open Access monographs available on the JSTOR platform. An initial set of 63 titles is available from four outstanding publishers: University of California Press, University of Michigan Press, UCL Press, and Cornell University Press. We expect to add several hundred more Open Access titles over the next year."  Free to all!

Reference Librarian profile

Louise Deis's picture
Louise Deis
Contact:
Peter B. Lewis (Science) Library, Rm. 211

8-3235

Email me
Website / Blog Page