Skip to main content

General searching techniques: Finding Articles

Resources for research in Evolution & the Behavior of the Sexes

Articles & Databases

Under Articles & Databases is where we organize all of our subscriptions to indexed collections of articles.

Two major multidisciplinary resources are Web of Science and Scopus.

Web of Science (ISI)  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.   they are frequently listed as core or important resources for about every subject.
Scopus  (1996+)
Note: Princeton's Institutional ID (needed for Papers software): 51401.
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+
Notice that there is a subject cluster of resources for Anthropology:
At the top of the list is:
Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.
Check out the Biology group.
With more than 13,000,000 records from publications in over 90 countries, Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Although this is not a full-text article database, our PULinks system conveniently links you to the full-text.
Also the Psychology group:
PsycINFO  (1800's+)
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Did you know that there is a Gender Studies listing, too?
International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies.

Google Scholar

SearchIt -- Articles+

Articles + covers many different types of materials:

Book and ebooks, book reviews, dissertations, government documents, journal and ejournal articles, newsletter and newspaper articles, plays, trade publications, transcripts and web resources. 


Reference Librarian profile

Louise Deis's picture
Louise Deis
Peter B. Lewis (Science) Library, Rm. 211


Email me