Research Guides: HIS 393: Race, Drugs, and Drug Policy in America: Government policy & law

Federal policy

History Vault This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. The material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings: Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+. Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.

State and local government policy

If you have a citation to a specific book, e.g. San Francisco municipal reports, check the library catalog first, then try Google Books if you don't find it.

State Slavery Statutes

Hein Online Library -- see scription of State Statutes: A Historical Archive State Statutes: A Historical Archive

Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1970 This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized and searchable copies of over 300 years of legal primary sources, such as early U.S. state codes, city charters, constitutional conventions and compilations, and other documents.

Legal materials

Legal Treatises 1800-1926 (Making of Modern Law Digital Archive) This link opens in a new window
Digital library of works from the 19th and early 20th centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. Includes treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.
LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window
Electronic database of historical legal materials is a work in progress. Over the next 5-7 years, this database will contain over 200,000 volumes of U.S. government documents, case reporters, statutes of the U.S. and selected foreign nations, the Congressional Record, the Congressional Globe and many other law materials. A rich source for legal history researchers.
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.
If Westlaw Campus asks for a password, please click the refresh button on your browser. This should allow access to the database without putting in a password.
Making of Modern Law (Trials 1600-1926) This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital archive of trial transcripts, and popular and scholarly accounts of both famous and non-famous historic trials.