Research Guides: HIS 393: Race, Drugs, and Drug Policy in America: Historical news

19th century newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.
Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.

Collection of major papers, including Baltimore Sun (1837-1986); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); New York Times (1851-2007); New York Tribune (1841-1922); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Washington Post (1877-1994).

Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Extensive full-text collection of Spanish-language and bilingual newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971 This link opens in a new window
More than 130 searchable newspapers published by ethnic groups in 25 U.S. states. Coverage is best for Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent. From the Balch Collection at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of African American newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

19th century magazines

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. 1740-1940.
Harpweek This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912.
Nation Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of The Nation, a leading journal of left and liberal opinion, with coverage of foreign affairs, politics, culture and the arts. Access: 1975 - current

Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper (also called Leslie's Weekly)

1855 until 1892 in Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive
1876 to 1905 in American Periodicals

Nineteenth Century Masterfile This link opens in a new window
Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

20th century magazines

News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Consists of the backfile of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Covers history, political science, law and economics. 1918-2015
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. 1740-1940.

Time Magazine Archive

Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture. 1846-2005

U.S. News and World Report

Television News

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University) This link opens in a new window
Index to the most extensive and complete archive of television news. Streamed video access to NBC and CNN content; other network content available for loan for a fee. Place loan requests through Interlibrary Loan; depending on costs, fees may be covered.