Skip to main content

The Near East Collections at Princeton University Library: PERIODICALS (PRNE)

This guide will introduce you to the history and scope of our Near East Collections here at Princeton University Library, and will also give you the basic tools you will need to start navigating the Collections themselves.

IMPORTANT NEWS

The Near East Periodicals Collection (PRNE) has moved into its new temporary location on B floor of Firestone Library (B-18N--the old SNE room). We hope to have the new label holders for the titles soon. Thank you for your patience.  

NEAR EAST PERIODICALS (PRNE)

The Periodicals and Newspapers Reading Room houses the Near East Periodicals collection (PRNE) of contemporary serials and newspapers which are acquired on a regular basis from around the world.  The library currently receives over 2,000 active serial publications in Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, Turkish, Urdu, and many Western languages.

In total, there are 11,641 Arabic, 2,760 Hebrew, 8,357 Persian, and 4,629 Turkish (Modern and Ottoman, and Azerbaijani) Near Eastern Language serials titles in the Near East Collections.

PRNE is open whenever Firestone Library is open, and is currently located on A floor. The Reading Room also becomes an after-hours study area during reading and exam periods.

If you are having trouble locating a particular article online, click here.

 

Main Catalog

 

Journal Finder

For more information on how to get the full text of a journal article by using Journal Finder, click here.

 

Citation Search

 

A list of Persian Serials in the Princeton University Library as of September 1, 1971

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHICAL AID - MOSHE DAYAN CENTER

The Moshe Dayan Center's bibliographic aid (Current Contents) quickly alerts scholars to Middle East-related articles appearing in journals or other scholarly and general interest publications. A link to the newest edition of Current Contents has been provided here.

UNION CATALOGS - PERIODICALS and NEWSPAPERS

NEAR EAST NEWSPAPERS

Princeton has an impressive collection of newspapers from the Near East, particularly our Persian holdings. However, due to the shipping schedules for some of our serials, newspapers from the Near East are frequently out of date by the time they are made available to patrons.  Listed below are links to many available online newspapers published in the Near East.

A link to Princeton University Library's titles listing of Foreign Historical and Current Newspapers on microfilm has been provided here.  The titles have been organized alphabetically, by country of origin.

FIRESTONE B FLOOR MAP - PRNE

NEW TITLES (PRNE)

Patrons may view the complete list of recently cataloged PRNE titles by clicking on the "View RSS Feed" link below. Titles are sorted by language.

Loading

NEW OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS

PATRON SUGGESTIONS & REQUESTS

If you do not see a title that you believe would be useful to have in our collection or if you have suggestions for PRNE, please make them here or email James Weinberger directly - jwwein@princeton.edu

If you are submitting a title request, please be sure to have as much bibliographic information as is possible.