Skip to main content

The Near East Collections at Princeton University Library: BOOKS (NEC)

This guide will introduce you to the history and scope of our Near East Collections here at Princeton University Library, and will also give you the basic tools you will need to start navigating the Collections themselves.

Search the Main Catalog

Main Catalog Search

 
 

SEARCH PRINCETON'S HOLDINGS

As of 2012, the Near East book Collection (NEC) at Princeton University Library contains more than 457,596 printed books in Arabic, Hebrew, Persian and Turkish and is one of the greatest collections of Near Eastern research materials in the United States. Most extensive are the Arabic holdings, with over 252,563 printed books. There are, in addition, 55,212 Persian, 75,119 Turkish (Modern and Ottoman, and Azerbaijani), and 74,702 modern and Rabbinic Hebrew printed books. The collection also contains a smaller selection of Aramaic, Armenian, Avestan, Berber, Coptic, Kurdish, Sumerian, Syriac, and Urdu materials. Current books are acquired on a regular basis from all the countries of the Near East and Islamic Africa.

If you are having trouble locating works in your Main Catalog search, check to be sure you are using the correct transliteration.  Links to PDFs of the current American Library Association and Library of Congress (ALA-LC) approved Romanization Tables for selected languages are available under the ROMANIZATION TABLES tab in this Library Guide.

 

Main Catalog

Supplementary Catalog

ONLINE MONOGRAPHS & SERIALS - PRINCETON

ARTICLES

Core Resources

Index Islamicus  (1906+)
Indexes literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.
Comprehensive information on the world of Islam in disciplines ranging from religion and history to politics and culture with a geographic and chronological scope encompassing the early Arab-Islamic Empire, Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states.
Freely accessible, continuously updated listing of Middle East journals and serials, including those available in print, microform, and online.
Index to journal and newspaper articles, books, and web sites on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage is from 1900 to the present and includes the following fields: politics, law, international relations, economics, literature, religion, arts, anthropology, history and archaeology. The database includes the catalogue of the School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS), a major collection in London
Index to articles, pamphlets and occasional publications on the Middle East published in English, French, and Arabic, based on the holdings of the Moshe Dayan Center in Tel Aviv.

Important Resources

allAfrica.com  (1997+)  
Access to the full text of over 120 African newspapers and magazines, including articles in French. Covers the entire African continent.
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
1954+
Note: Restricted to academic research by Princeton University faculty and students.
Primary source for all aspects of Islamic finance.
Comprehensive bibliography of all primary sources relating to the Mamluk sultanate of Egypt and Syria and all research and discussion germane to this subject. An on-going project of the Middle East Documentation Center (MEDOC) at the University of Chicago.
Information portal for Middle East and Islamic Studies which provides access to online information and to digital records of printed and other offline media. Created by the State- and University Library of Saxony-Anhalt in Halle, Germany and integrates the efforts of many institutions and individuals.
Collection of English-language reference resources on the Islamic world, including the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, and two translations of the Qur'an. Also includes a timeline of Islamic events and a date converter for the Christian and Islamic calendars.

COURSE RESERVES

For more information on Course Reserves at Princeton University, please refer to the Course Reserve Library Guide.

To submit a reserve request with the Online Reserve Request Service (ORRS), click here.

FIRESTONE C FLOOR MAP - NEC

RICHARDSON CALL NUMBERS

Richardson call numbers in Firestone (those that begin with four-digit numerals) have been converted to Library of Congress call numbers (which are alpha-numeric).

If the need arises to search a title with a Richardson call number, it is possible to search the Main Catalog for the title (as a "title") or the Richardson call number itself (as a "keyword") in order to obtain the current location and call number information.

NEW TITLES (NEC)

Patrons may view the complete list of recently cataloged NEC titles by clicking on the "View RSS Feed" link below.  Titles are sorted by language.

Loading

NEW OPEN SOURCE ITEMS

PATRON SUGGESTIONS & REQUESTS

If you do not see a title that you believe would be useful to have in our collection or if you have suggestions for the NEC, please make them here or email James Weinberger directly -  jwwein@princeton.edu

If you are submitting a title request, please be sure to have as much bibliographic information as is possible.