Skip to main content

African American Studies: Newspapers

Books about African American newspapers, the Black Press, etc.

Researchers interested in pursuing a more exhaustive study of the history of African-American newspapers, the Black press, and publishing may wish to consult one or more books in the list of recommended readings below.

Black press

The Black press periodical directory. 1973-1975. Newark, NJ: Black Press Clipping Bureau.  (F) Z6944.N39.B45 

Dann, Martin E. comp.  The Black press, 1827-1890: the quest for national identity.  New York, NY: Capricorn Books, 1971.  (F) E185.5 D35 1971

Detweiler, Frederick German.  The Negro press in the United States.  Chicago: University of Chicago Press 1922.  (F) PN4888.N4 D4 1922

Finkle, Lee.  Forum for protest: the black press during World War II. Rutherford, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 1975.  (F) PN 4888.N4F5 

Meier, August.  The Claude A. Barnett papers: the Associated Negro Press, 1981-1967.  Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984.  (FILM) S00767; (Film B) PN4841.A73M44 

O'Kelly, Charlotte G.  The Black press and the Black protest movement: a study of the response of mass media to social change, 1946-1972.  n.p., 1975.  MICROFILM 03805 

Suggs, Henry Lewis.  The Black press in the south, 1865-1979. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983.  (F) PN4882.5.B54 1983 

Thompson, Julius Eric.  The Black press in Mississippi, 1865-1985: a directory.  West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1988.  (F) Z1361.N39T52 1988 

Waters, Enoch P.  American diary: a personal history of the Black press. Chicago: Path Press, 1983.  (F) PN4874.W293.A33 1983

Books by and about African American journalists

PLEADING OUR OWN CAUSE: BOOKS

BY AND ABOUT AFRICAN AMERICAN JOURNALISTS 

 

“We wish to plead our own cause. Too long have others spoken for us. Too long has the publick (sic) been deceived by misrepresentations in things which concern us dearly, though in the estimation of some mere trifles.”

Samuel E. Cornish, Freedom’s Journal, March 30 1827**

Alexander, Amy. Uncovering Race: Aa Black Journalist's Story of Rreporting and Reinvention. Boston: Beacon Press, 2011.

Andrews, Gregg. Thyra J. Edwards, Black Activist in the Global Freedom Struggle. Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Press, 2011.

Andrews, Helena. Bitch is the New Black: A Memoir. New York: Harper, 2010.

Bay, Mia. To Tell the Truth Freely: The Life of Ida B. Wells. NY: Hill and Wang, 2009.

Bing, Robert L. Race, Crime and the Media. New York: McGraw Hill, 2009.

Boyd, Gerald M. My Times in Black and White: Race and Power at the New York Times. Chicago, IL: Chicago Review Press, 2010.

Campbell, Christopher P. Race and News: Critical Perspectives. NY: Routledge, 2010.

Cose, Ellis. The End of Anger: A New Generation's Take on Race and Rage. New York:Ecco, 2011.

Davenport, Christian. Media Bias, Perspective, and State Repression: The Black Panther Party. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2010.

Davis. Belva and Vicki Haddock. Never in My Wildest Dreams: A Black Woman's Life in Journalism. Sausalito, CA: Polipoint Press, 2011.

Hall, Calvin L. African American Journalists: Autobiography as Memoir and Manifesto. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2009.

IfillGwen. The Breakthrough: Politics and Race in the Age of ObamaNew York:Doubleday, 2009.

Kaplan, Erin Aubry. Black Talk, Blue Thoughts, and Walking the Color Line: Dispatches from a Black Journalist. Boston: Northeastern University Press, 2011.

Lamar, Jake and Françoise Bouillot. Confessions d'un Fils Modèle. Paris: Payot, 2009.

Lemon, Don. Transparent. Las Vegas, NV: Farrah Gray Foundation Press, 2011.

Lynch, Arana. Straight, No Chaser: The Street Chronicles According to Arana Lynch. Cleveland, OH: On the Fly Films/Call and Post Newspapers, 2009.

Norris, Michele. The Grace of SilenceNew York: Pantheon Books, 2010.

O'Brien, Soledad and Rose Marie Arce. The Next Big Story: My Journey Through the Land of Possibilities. New York: New American Library, 2010.

Ottley, Roi. Roi Ottley's World War II: The Lost Diary of an African American Journalist. Lawrence, KS: University of Kansas Press, 2011.

The Philadelphia Tribune, 1884-2009: 125 years. Philadelphia, PA: The Tribune, 2009.

Phillips, Julian and A. R. Bernard. Discovering Your Hidden Power: Unleashing the Power of Words. [S.l.]: Xulon Press, 2009.

Rideau, Wilbert. In the Place of Justice: A Story of Punishment and Deliverance. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2010.

Simpson, Carole. NewsLady. Bloomington, IN: AuthorHouse, 2010.

Tassy, Elaine. How the Sun Lost itsSshine: A Newsroom Memoir. Lanham, MD:Hamilton Books, 2010.

Whitaker, Mark. A Long Trip Home. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2011.

Williams, Juan. Muzzled: The Assault on Honest Debate. New York: Crown, 2011.

Williams, Walter E. Up from the Projects: An Autobiography. Stanford, CA: Hoover Institution Press, 2010.

Wills, Cheryl. Die Free: A Heroic Family History. Minneapolis, MN: Bascom HillPublishing Group, 2010.

Womack, Ytasha. Post Black: How a New Generation is Redefining African American Identity. Chicago, IL: Lawrence Hill Books, 2010.

**Rev. Cornish (1795-1858) and John B. Russwurm (1799-1851) founded the first Black newspaper U.S., Freedom’s Journal, on March 16, 1827.

 

Compiled by Kathleen E. Bethel

African American Studies Librarian

Northwestern University Library

kbethel@northwestern.edu

History

Abajian, James T.  Blacks in selected newspapers, censuses and other sources: an index to names and subjects.  Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1977.  3 vols.  (F) Z1361.n39A28q

African-American newspapers and periodicals: a national bibliography, edited by James P. Danky. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1998.  (DR) Z6944.N39A37 1998

Blassingame, John W. and Mae G. Henderson.  Antislavery newspapers and periodicals: an annotated index of letters, 1817-1871. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1980.  3 vols.  Volume 1, Annotated index of letters in the Philanthropist, Emancipator, Genius of Universal Emancipation, Abolition Intelligencer, African Observer, and the Liberator, 1817-1845.    Volume 2, Annotated index of letters in the Liberator, Anti-Slavery Record, Human Rights, and the Observer.  Volume 3,  Annotated index of letters in theFriend of Man, Pennsylvania Freeman, Advocate of Freedom, and American and Foreign Anti-Slavery Reporter.  Volumes 4-5, Annotated index of letters in the National Anti-Slavery Standard.(DR) Z1249.S6A57

Campbell, Georgetta Merritt.  Extant collections of Black newspapers: a research guide to the Black press, 1880-1915, with an index to the Boston "Guardian," 1902-1904.  Troy, NY: Whitson Pub. Co., 1981.  (F) Z6944.N39C35

Jacobs, Donald M.  Antebellum Black newspapers: indices to New York Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The Rights of All (1829), The Weekly Advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837- 1841).  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1976.  (DR) E185.5.J33 

La Brie, Henry G.  The Black newspaper in America: a guide.  Iowa City, Iowa: Institute for Communication Studies, University of  Iowa, 1970.  (ReCap) Z6944.N39 L337 1970

Oak, Vishnu Vitthal.  The Negro Entreprenuer. Yellow Springs, OH: Antioch Press, 1948.  vol. 1: The Negro newspaper  (F) E185.8 O2 1948

Page, Clarence.  African American newspapers, the voice of freedom.  Evanston, IL: Northwestern University Press, 2006.  (F) PN4882.5.W37 2006

Pride, Armistead Scott.  Negro newspapers on microfilm: a selected list.  Washington, DC: Library of Congress, Photoduplication Service, 1953. MICROFILM S01557 (reels 102-113), guide to accompany microfilm, (FilmB) Z6944.N39 P7

__________.  A register and history of Negro newspapers in the United States, 1827-1950.  Ph.D. Thesis, Northwestern University, 1950.  RECAP MICROFILM 00619 

Indexes and guides to newspapers

African-American newspapers and periodicals: a national bibliography, edited by James P. Danky. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1998.  (DR) Z6944.N39A37 1998

Black newspaper index.  Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International, 1977-  .  (Film B) AI3.I46 

Black periodicals and newspapers: a union list of holdings in libraries of the University of Wisconsin and the Library of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin.  Compiled by Neil E. Strache... et al. 2d rev. ed.  Madison: The Society, 1979. (F) Z1361.N39B79 1979 

The Black press periodical directory. 1973-1975.  Newark, NJ: Black Press Clipping Bureau.  (F) Z6944.n39.B45 

La Brie, Henry G.  The Black newspaper in America: a guide.  Iowa City, Iowa: Institute for Communication Studies, University of  Iowa, 1970.  (ReCap) Z6944.N39 L337 1970

Brown, Warren.  Check list of Negro newspapers in the United States, 1827-1947.  School of journalism Series no. 2. Jefferson City, MO:  Lincoln University, School of Journalism, 1946.  (DR) Z69511.B88

Bryl, Susan and Erwin K. Welsch.  Black periodicals and newspapers: a union list of holdings in the libraries of the University of Wisconsin, and the Library of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin.  Madison, WI: University of Wisocnsin, Memorial Library, 1975.  (F) Z6944.N39C35

Campbell, Georgetta Merritt.  Extant collections of Black newspapers: a research guide to the Black press, 1880-1915, with an index to the Boston "Guardian," 1902-1904.  Troy, NY: Whitson Pub. Co., 1981.  (F) Z6944.N39C35

Daniel, Elenor Murphy and Adine McClarty Rollins.  Index to Black newspapers. Wooster, OH: Micro Photography Division, Bell and Howell, n.d.  (Film B) AI3.I46 

Directory of U. S. Negro newspapers, magazines & periodicals. [New York] U.S. Negro world. n.d. (F) Z6944.N39 D5

Henritze, Barbara K.  Bibliographic checklist of African American newspapers. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co., c1995. (DR) Z6944.N39 H46 1995 

In Black and White: A Guide to Magazine Articles, Newspaper Articles, and Books Concerning More than 15,000 Black Individuals and GroupsMary Mace Spradling, editor. 3d ed. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., c1980. (F) Z1361.N39 S655

In Black and White. Supplement: A Guide to Magazine Articles, Newspaper Articles, and Books Concerning More than 6,700 Black Individuals and Groups.  Mary Mace Spradling, editor. 3rd ed. Detroit, Mich.: Gale, c1985. (DR) Z1361.N39 S655 1980 Suppl.

Index to Black newspapers.  Wooster, OH: Bell & Howell Co., 1977- 1986.  (FILM B) AI3.I46

Index to the Hampton University Newspaper Clipping File.  Edited by Nicholas Natanson. Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, c1990. (FilmB) E184.6 .I523 1990

Index to the Schomburg Clipping File.  Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, c1986. (FilmB) Oversize Z1361.N39 S373 1986q

Jacobs, Donald M.  Antebellum Black newspapers: indices to New York Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The Rights of All (1829), The Weekly Advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837-1841).  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1976.  (DR) E185.5.J33 

Also of interest

Burkett, Randall. The joy of finding periodicals "Not in Danky." Library Trends, Volume 56, Number 3, Winter 2008, pp.601-617.  Project Muse 24 September 2008

Abstract:

This essay examines the seminal reference tool, African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1998), edited by James P. Danky. It provides background on the creation of this highly acclaimed volume and demonstrates its usefulness in building a research collection of rare periodical literature in African American history and culture. It also documents efforts to build such a collection at Emory University.