Skip to main content

Native American history

US government records

The Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S Archives Unbound
"... full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans."

Native Americans and the New Deal [microform]: the office files of John Collier, 1933-1945
Microfilm 11693
18 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E93 .N365
Collier was Commissioner of the Bureau of Indian Affairs under Roosevelt. See http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00139.html. "Filmed at the National Archives [Record Group 75], this collection extensively covers the struggles in Congress leading to the Indian Reorganization Act, the debates over the allotment system, and exchanges of criticism and support with many advocacy groups. There are files on the American Indian Association, the American Association of Indian Affairs, and the California Indian Rights Association." See http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/ 2127_NatAmsNewDealCollier.pdf

Native Americans reference collection [microfilm]: documents collected by the Office of Indian Affairs
Microfilm 11671
76 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E93 .N374
"In the 1870s, the Office (later Bureau) of Indian Affairs began binding its collection of government documents and nongovernment publications on American Indians. These documents, some dating back to the 1840s, were used for the office’s in- house research and cover nearly every aspect of Native American life, including education, health, culture, livelihood, migration, claims, land, treaties, and more." Two parts, covering 1840-1900 and 1901-1948.

Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, procedural issuances, orders and circulars, 1854-1955 [microform]
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
Materials from Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Record Group 75. 17 reels.

Survey of Indian reservations [microform]
Microfilm 11656
3 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E93.G942 1975
"Survey of Indian Reservations was compiled by the South Dakota Emergency Relief Administration during the Great Depression. The health, housing, education, finances, religion, and customs of the individual Indian families on major reservations were examined and the resulting data analyzed by experts. The areas studied include the Sisseton Agency; the Pine Ridge Agency; the Rosebud Agency; the Cheyenne Agency; the Standing Rock Agency; and the Crow, Lower Brule, and Flandreau Reservations." See http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/2139_SurveyIndRes-1.pdf

Reports of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes [microform]
Microfilm 11658
3 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E93.G942 1975
"This collection includes the annual and special reports by the commissioner, covering the years 1893 to 1920. Some of the key congressional hearings concerning the Five Civilized Tribes have been appended to the reports. The reports and hearings form an indispensable source of information about the Choctaw, Creek, Chickasaw, Seminole, and Cherokee tribes." See http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/2135_RptCommFiveTribes.pdf

Survey of conditions of the Indians in the United States [microform]
Microfilm 11659
8 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E93.G942 1975
"The documentary legacy of hearings and investigations conducted between 1928 and 1943 by the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, the 41 publications that constitute this collection provide insights into many major tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others." See http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/2137_SurveyCondIndians.pdf

U.S. Dept of Interior: Indian Census Rolls 1884-1940
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
See http://www.archives.gov/research/microfilm/m595.pdf

U.S. Indian Claims Commission series
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
"The Indian Claims Commission was created on August 13, 1946, to hear and decide claims over lands ceded by Indians; the claims were against the U.S. government arising before the establishment of the Commission. The main set includes claims and decisions made through August 13, 1973; the Center holds supplements that cover 1973-1978." 4650 fiche, plus printed indexes.

Records of the National Council on Indian Opportunity, 1968-1974 History Vault

FBI files on Native American organizations

The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism Archives Unbound
"Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism."

FBI files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee History Vault
Duplicates materials in Microfilm 11657
"The FBI Files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee provides detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, on the occupation of Wounded Knee, and on the activities of the FBI in response to the growing strength of the AIM movement." Covers 1969-1977. See http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/ 2141_FBIAmIndMovWoKnee.pdf

Native American perspectives

North American Indian Thought and Culture
Includes published autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files that illustrate native peoples' experiences from their own point of view. Covers the 17th through the 21st century.

Council meetings of the major American Indian tribes, 1907-1971 [microform]
Microfilm 11690
52 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E98.T77 C686
Consists of minutes of council meetings of selected tribes. See http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/ 2120_MajCounMtgsAmIndPt1Sec1.pdf and http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/ 2123_MajCounMtgsAmIndPt1Sec2.pdf

Papers of Carlos Montezuma, M.D., including the papers of Maria Keller Montezuma Moore and the papers of Joseph W. Latimer
Microfilm 05644
9 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E99.Y5 M66
Montezuma was a physician and American Indian activist, and a founder of the Society of American Indians. See Montezuma, Carlos (1866-1923).

Papers of the Society of American Indians [microform]
Microfilm 05863
10 reels
Printed guide: none
"The Papers of the Society of American Indians is a record of the organization, personalities, and accomplishments of the nation's first modern Pan-Indian reform group.... This collection comprises about 5,600 documents drawn from forty-five repositories across the country. Included are society correspondence, bylaws, position papers, publications, financial records, conference programs, claims, petitions, and press clippings. " Guide on the first reel.

[Publications of the Indian Rights Association]
Princeton's Western Americana collection holds many of the publications of the Indian Rights Association, including annual reports. The material covers 1883-1942.

Lake Mohonk Conference of Friends of the Indian
Princeton holds the annual report of this conference, 1883-1929. Rare Books Off-Site Storage: E93 .L19. See also The Lake Mohonk Conference of Friends of the Indian: a guide to the annual reports. Larry E Burgess; Laurence M Hauptman. New York: Clearwater Press, 1975. Firestone E93 .L19 1975