Skip to main content

Native American history

Manuscript collections

Western Americana Collection Index

Association on American Indian Affairs Records, 1851-2008 (bulk 1922-1995)
Mudd Manuscript Library, MC147
Finding aid: http://arks.princeton.edu/ark:/88435/z316q159f

Taos Blue Lake Collection, circa 1947 - 1972 (bulk 1965-1970)
Mudd Manuscript Library, MC106
Inventory: http://arks.princeton.edu/ark:/88435/zc77sq09n

Herbert S. Auerbach Collection on Mormons and Indians, 1808-1935: Finding Aid
Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection (MSS), WC041
Finding aid: http://arks.princeton.edu/ark:/88435/5138jd87p

McCarter and English Records on U.S. Indian Claims Cases, 1958-1970
Seeley G. Mudd Library (Mudd), WC030
Finding aid: http://arks.princeton.edu/ark:/88435/j098zb104

William Byler Papers, 1977-1999
Seeley G. Mudd Library (Mudd), MC201
Finding aid: http://arks.princeton.edu/ark:/88435/xw42n7946

Charles Ethrige Minton papers, 1954-1976
Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection (MSS), WC125
"A former lawyer in St. Louis, Missouri, Minton moved to New Mexico to work among the Indians. His subsequent positions include State Supervisor of the Writer’s Program of the Works Progress Administration, Executive Director of the State Commission on Indian Affairs, and Executive Secretary of the New Mexico Association on Indian Affairs.... Consists of correspondence and papers of Minton. Included in the collection is correspondence with Elizabeth Hoyt, Joel L. Jimanez, Katie Noe, Raymond Ortiz, and others, as well as subject files on the Arizona Commisssion of Indian Affairs, Indian youth councils, the Commission on Indian Affairs, tribal affairs, and other Indian related topics."

Native American periodicals

Princeton holds a large collection of Native American periodicals, primarily from the 1960s and 1970s. There is a list by title at http://libweb5.princeton.edu/visual_materials/western_americana/Finding_Aids/ Am_Indian_Periodicals.pdf and they can also be found by searching the Main Catalog for "American Indian periodicals in the Princeton University Library" as Title.

To identify additional Native American periodicals, consult:

  • American Indian and Alaska native newspapers and periodicals. Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr. and James W. Parins. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1983-
    Firestone Library (F) PN4883 .L57 1983
  • American Indian periodicals on microform from the Princeton University Library, the Huntington Free Library (Museum of the American Indian), the Newberry Library, the Smithsonian Institution, the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. New York: Clearwater, [1982?]
    Rare Books: Western Americana Collection (WA) Z1209.2.U5 A43
  • Index to Wisconsin native American periodicals, 1897-1981 [microform]
    Firestone Microforms, Microfiche 810
  • American Indian periodicals on microform: a guide to holdings in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center, Arizona State University. Vicky Kalambakal. Tempe, Ariz.: The Center, [2002]
    Rare Books: Western Americana Collection (WA) Oversize 2004-0609Q