Skip to main content

Medieval & early modern Britain

Print collections (books)

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive
Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. [We also hold this collection in microform: RECAP Microfilm S00656.]

London Low Life
Full-text searchable resource, containing color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

English cartoons and satirical prints 1320-1832, in the British Museum [microform]
Microfilm S00288
21 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms NE55.L7 A3
See http://www.britishmuseum.org/pdf/British Satirical Prints.pdf. Consists of more than17,000 prints, the majority concentrated in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.

Witchcraft in Europe and America [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 05401
104 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms BF1566.R47
Reproduces books on witchcraft from the collections of Cornell University, the Lea Library at the University of Pennsylvania, and elsewhere. Good coverage of all aspects of witchcraft, including many trial accounts. Note: much of the material in English may also be found in Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

English legal sources: on microfiche: printed English legal literature up to 1800
Microfiche 836
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms KD530.E534
[description forthcoming]

Manuscript collections

Virginia Company Archives
Digital edition of the papers of the Virginia Company of London (Ferrar Papers), now at Magdalene College, Cambridge.

Papers of the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies, 1694-1709
The Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies is better known as the Darien Company. The intention was for Scotland set up trading colonies, beginning with a settlement near present-day Panama. Material from the National Library of Scotland.

Aristocracy, the state and the local community [microform]: the Hastings collection of manuscripts from the Huntington Library in California
Microfilm 09170
39 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD1069.5.H37 A75
"Accumulated from more than five centuries of activity in national and regional affairs, the Hastings family papers are a wealth of diverse material for research not only into English history, but also into Irish and Colonial American history." The correspondence include letters dated from 1477 to 1828, and there are also legal and financial papers.

Correspondence, 17th-18th cent . [Sloane, Hans, Sir, 1660-1753]
RECAP 0412.864
16 reels
Printed guide: none
British Museum manuscripts, 4036-69; "Original correspondence, chronologically arranged." Cf. Edward J. L. Scott, Index to the Sloane manuscripts, London, 1904, p. 498. On Sloane, a physician and collector of books and manuscripts, see http://www.oxforddnb.com/view/article/25730.

Claydon House letters. [Microform]
1494.9338.25
60 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DA485.S42
The Verney family letters are an important source for social history in the 17th century. See http://www.oxforddnb.com/view/article/28233 for Sir Ralph Verney, writer of many of the letters.

Medieval and early modern women [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11790
16 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HQ1599.E5 M 424
Manuscript material from the British Library. Part 1 reproduces work by a number of important medieval and early modern women writers; Part 2 reproduces recipe, household and account books; religious texts; and correspondence. See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ medieval-and-early-modern-women-part-1/Contents.aspx and http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ medieval-and-early-modern-women-part-2/Contents.aspx

Records of a Scottish village [microform]: Lasswade
Microfiche 741
6 fiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DA890.L37R42
Collection of documents from the Scottish Record Office, primarily parish registers and poll tax record, for the village of Lasswade, 1650-1750.

Records of an English village [microform]
Microfiche 682
70 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DA690.E116R42
Records from the Essex Record Office and elsewhere for the village of Earls Colne, 1400-1750.

Records of the Worshipful Company of Stationers, 1554-1920 [microform]
Microfilm 05633
115 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Oversize Z325.S73 R43q
The Stationers' Company archives constitute an important source for the history of the English book trade.

Talbot Papers from Lambeth Palace Library [microform]
Microfilm 04571
9 reels
Printed guide: none
"As a collection, the Talbot papers record the public service and private living of the Talbot family who were among the richest and most powerful of the Tudor nobility in England up to the Civil War." See Calendar of the Shrewsbury and Talbot papers in Lambeth Palace Library and the College of Arms, Firestone DA670.D42 D4732 no.1, etc.