Skip to main content

South & East Asia: primary sources

India: British records

India Raj and Empire
Digitized manuscripts from the National Library of Scotland, from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the 1947 Independence of India and Pakistan.

Indian Papers of Clive and Carnac
"The papers of two leading actors in the East India Company in mid-18th century Bengal from the National Library of Wales. Chiefly in English, but with an array of original correspondence with local figures in Indo-Persian and occasionally Bengali, Marathi and Tamil, this collection allows researchers to understand the complex political web in the subcontinent as the power of the Mughal Empire began to wane." From the National Library of Wales.

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan Material from the British government on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. Includes DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew.

[Great Britain. Imperial Record Office]
Microfiche 1058 and 1059
Printed guide: none
Lists of records from the Imperial Record Office, Calcutta, plus a list of materials relating to the Sepoy Rebellion, 1857-58. Does not reproduce the documents.

Selections from the Records of the Government of India, 1849-1937
Microfiche 2113
3158 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Oversize Z3208.A4 S54 1987q
Selected material from the British India Office (See http://www.bl.uk/reshelp/findhelpregion/asia/india/indiaofficerecords/indiaofficehub.html.) The collection consists of "346 volumes of documents dated between 1849 and 1937, pertaining to a variety of aspects of the history of the British administration in India. "Selections from the Records" was a title used by the provincial governments of India for papers intended for circulation among officials and the public. The series was at first envisaged as being appropriate for documents too brief or otherwise unsuited for separate publication, but each government quickly adapted the series for its own purposes, and in some cases they included substantial reports or collections of correspondence."

Indian newspaper reports, c1868-1942, from the British Library, London [microform]
Microfilm 12006
Printed guide: none
"Indian Newspaper Reports constitute an important series to be found in the Record Department Papers of the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library. The reports consist of abstracts taken from Indian newspapers." Covers Bengal, 1874-1903 (27 reels); Bengal, 1904-1916 (26 reels); Punjab, Agra, Oudh, Rajputana and Central Provinces, c1868-1896 (29 reels); United Provinces, 1897-1937 (29 reels); Madras, 1876-1921 (32 reels); Bombay, 1874-1898 (18 reels); Bombay, 1901-1921; Punjab 1896-1924; Sind 1936-1939; Burma 1938-1942; Bihar and Orissa 1920. See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/collections_az/Indian-News-1/highlights.aspx

India gazetteers [microform]
Microfiche 2151
5,684 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Oversize DS405.I65 G39 1991q
"Gazetteers are among the prime reference sources of scholars of the Indian sub-continent. They are treasure houses of historical, archaeological, political, economic, sociological, commercial and statistical data." This series reproduces provincial and district gazetteers from 1833 to 1962 (most are from the late 19th and early 20th centuries). See http://www.idcpublishers.com/pdf/176_guide.pdf. We also have the 9-volume Imperial gazetteer of India, 1881, at Firestone DS405 .H93 1881.

Indian Political Intelligence (IPI) files, 1912-1950 [microform]
Microfiche 2187
624 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Oversize DS480.45 .I529 2000q
The Indian Political Intelligence organization was associated with the British India Office. This collection is an "archival collection of intelligence files concerning the monitoring of organisations and individuals considered a threat to British India." See http://www.idcpublishers.com/pdf/335_guide.pdf

India legislative series
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
"Most of the pre-1947 India Legislative Assembly and Council Debates, from the central and the provincial governments." Covers 1854-1947. See http://www.idcpublishers.com/pdf/240_titlelist.pdf. Note that CRL has cataloged the individual titles, but not the (very large) set as a whole, so you will need to request specific titles.

The Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920 Archives Unbound "Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives. From the British Library."

The Indian papers of Colonel Clive and Brigadier-General Carnac, 1752-1774 British Online Archives "The papers of two leading actors in the East India Company in mid-18th century Bengal from the National Library of Wales. Chiefly in English, but with an array of original correspondence with local figures in Indo-Persian and occasionally Bengali, Marathi and Tamil, this collection allows researchers to understand the complex political web in the subcontinent as the power of the Mughal Empire began to wane."

The Indian papers of the 4th Earl of Minto British Online Archives "The papers of Gilbert John Elliot-Murray-Kynynmound, the 4th Earl of Minto, (1845-1914), Viceroy of India between 1905 and 1910, cover a period of dramatic and momentous change in the history of colonial India...This rich, varied and complex collection of documents forms part of a larger archive now held at the National Library of Scotland."

The Meerut Conspiracy Trial, 1929-1933 British Online Archives "Collectively drawn from the British Library, Labour History Archive & Study Centre and Working Class Movement Library, the following documents bring together an array of differing, and balanced, perspectives on both the trial itself as well as its consequences."

India: U.S. government records

Despatches from United States consuls in Calcutta, 1843-1906 [microform]
RECAP 1096.4871.92
17 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Bombay, 1838-1906 [microform]
RECAP 1096.4871.92.2
8 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Archives Unbound "Independent India’s first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation. This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.Source Note: RG 59, Records of the Department of State, Central Files, India, 1945-1949, Decimal numbers 645, 745, 845 and 711.45. Includes all documents previously segregated due to security classification that have been interfiled by the National Archives." Duplicates Microfilm 06514.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files [microform] : India : foreign affairs, 1945-1949
Microfilm 12408
2 reels
Printed guide: DS480.83 C658
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

The Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933 Archives Unbound "During World War I, Indian nationalists took advantage of Great Britain’s preoccupation with the European war by attempting to foment revolution in India to overthrow British rule. Their activities were aided politically and financially by the German Government. Indian nationalists in the United States were active in the independence movement effort through fundraising, arms buying, and propagandizing through the Hindustan Ghadar newspaper published in San Francisco."

Richard M. Nixon national security files, 1969-1974: India-Pakistan War of 1971 History Vault

India: Western perspectives

Western books on Asia. India and the West. Bound pamphlets [microform]
Microfilm 12136
48 reels
Printed guide: DS428 .W47 2006
Collection of 1,129 titles found in 112 bound volumes about India, collected by Charles Lesley Ames and now located in the Ames Library at the University of Minnesota. The works are mostly in English with some in French, German or Indian languages. About half were published in England, the rest in India. Most works were published during the 19th century, although some are from before 1760 and a few from after 1900.

Evangelism in India: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1833-1910 Archives Unbound "The collection documents the Board of Foreign Missions’ tripartite ministry (Farukhabad, Punjab, and the West Indian missions) in India but also reflects the development of the modern Indian state in a broader sense. Reaction to foreigners generally and Protestant missionaries specifically, discontent with British rule and the development of the Independence movement, and racial and internecine religious warfare between Hindu and Muslim populations are well documented." From the Presbyterian Historical Society, Philadelphia, PA.

Indian perspectives

Empire Writes Back: Indian views on Britain and Empire, 1810-1915, from the British Library, London [microform]
Microfilm 11849
10 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DA125.S57 I634 2003
This collection reproduces 17 published accounts of Indian visitors to Britain. See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/empire_writes_back_part_1/Contents.aspx

Related guides: South Asia

Indonesia

Despatches from United States consuls in Batavia, 1818-1906 [microform]
RECAP 1096.4874.92
14 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2. "Batavia" is modern Indonesia.

European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930 Archives Unbound

Documents from Record Group 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, Class 800, Netherlands, 1910-1929. Includes content only for country codes for Netherlands East Indies and associated islands: 856d, 856e, 856f, 856g, 856h, and 856.

Sukarno and the Army-PKI Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960-1963  Archives Unbound  "memoranda, correspondence, telegrams, memoranda of conversations, reports, and news articles and cover all aspects of U.S. relations with Indonesia, Indonesian internal affairs, and Indonesia’s relations with its neighbors. Source note: Record Group 59: Records of the Department of State, Central Decimal Files, 1960-January 1963, decimal numbers 798, 898, and 998 (Indonesia internal affairs) and decimal numbers 698 and 611.98."

U.S. Relations and Policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958: Records of the Office of Southeast Asian Affairs  Archives Unbound "This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of U.S.-Southeast Asia relations between 1944 and 1958, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned the American role in Southeast Asia. Source Note: RG 59, Records of the Department of State, Lot Files 54-D-190, 55-D-480, 55-D-481, 55-D-266, 59-D-630, 63-D-3, 58-D-782, 58-D-726, and 58-D-257, National Archives, College Park, MD."