Skip to main content

South & East Asia: primary sources

Vietnam War: diplomatic sources

The U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1950-1954 Archives Unbound "The United States decision to provide military assistance to France and the Associated States of Indochina was reached informally in February/March 1950, funded by the President on May 1, 1950, and was announced on May 8, 1950. The decision was taken in spite of the U.S. desire to avoid direct involvement in a colonial war, and in spite of a sensing that France’s political-military situation in Indochina was deteriorating. This collection consists of unique records of U.S. agencies established to intervene in Vietnam-the country U.S. foreign policy deemed a lynchpin in the free world’s fight against communism. The Subject Files from the Office of the Director, U.S. Operations Missions, document the myriad concerns and rationales that went into the control and direction of U.S. economic and technical assistance programs, as well as the coordination of mutual security activities, with respect to Vietnam."

History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
Reproduces many archival collections on the Vietnam War and the U.S. government, including records of the Associated Press and other media, the CIA, the State Department, the EPA, the military, the Kissinger telephone conversation transcripts on world affairs, and national security files from the, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon and Ford administrations. Replaces many microfilm collections held by Princeton: RECAP Microfilm 09824, RECAP Microfilm 09653, RECAP Microfilm 05638, RECAP Microfilm 07715. See http://proquest.libguides.com/content.php?pid=207548&sid=1805355

  • CIA Research Reports, Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976  History Vault
  • CIA Research Reports, Vietnam and Southeast Asia, Supplement History Vault

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Vietnam, 1960-January 1963 [microform]
Microfilm 11686
24 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS559.912 .C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html . internal affairs, decimal numbers 751K, 751G, 851K, 851G, 951K, and 951G and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 611.51K, 611.51G, 651K, and 651G. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=466

Confidential U.S. State Department Special Files, Vietnam Working Group, 1963-1966 History Vault

Vietnam and Southeast Asia [microform]: special studies, 1960-1980
Microfilm 05637
13 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS557.7 V538 1982
This collection comprises studies prepared by a variety of government and non-governmental organizations to inform U.S. policy making.

The Johnson Administration and Pacification in Vietnam:
Robert Komer-William Leonhart Files, 1966-1968
History Vault
Duplicates RECAP Microfilm 09824
Consists of material from the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library that documents the American pacification effort in Vietnam. "Topics addressed include agriculture and land reform, the South Vietnamese army, Buddhists and Catholics in Vietnam, defense spending, the Doan Ket National Reconciliation Program, South Vietnamese economic indicators, conditions in the hamlets, Viet Cong infrastructure, intelligence coordination and exploitation, peace negotiations, postwar planning, and psychological warfare."

Ambassador Graham Martin and the Saigon Embassy’s Back Channel Communication Files, 1963-1975 Archives Unbound "Consists of State Department telegrams and White House backchannel messages between U.S. ambassadors in Saigon and White House national security advisers, talking points for meetings with South Vietnamese officials, intelligence reports, drafts of peace agreements, and military status reports. Subjects include the Diem coup, the Paris peace negotiations, the fall of South Vietnam, and other U.S./South Vietnam relations topics, 1963 to 1975. Source Library: Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library."

Transcripts and files of the Paris peace talks on Vietnam, 1968-1973 History Vault
Consists of verbatim transcripts of the peace talks.

Indochina

Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949 Archives Unbound "Comprising records of the State Department’s Central Classified Files, this collection contains records relating to the internal affairs of Indochina, during the period 1945-49. The records include instructions sent to and correspondence received by the State Department; the State Department’s internal documentation, as well as correspondence between the Department and other federal departments and agencies, Congress, and private individuals and organizations; telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence." Duplicates Microfilm 05640.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Indochina. Internal affairs, 1950-1954 [microform]
Microfilm 05641
44 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS532.8.C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Indochina, 1955-1959 [microform]
Microfilm 07623
54 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS532.8 .C664
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html : internal affairs, decimal numbers 751G, 751H, and 751J; 851G, 851H, and 851J; and 951G, 951H, and 951J: foreign affairs, decimal numbers 651G, 651H, and 651J; and 611.51G, 611.51H, and 611.51J See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=459

Laos

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Laos, 1960-January 1963 [microform
Microfilm 11688
36 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS555.5 .C664
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html (internal affairs, decimal numbers 751J, 851J, and 951J and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 651J, and 611J) which comprise correspondence and reports. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=463