Skip to main content

South & East Asia: primary sources

Korea: 19th century

Despatches from United States ministers to Korea, 1883-1905 [microform]
RECAP 1096.537.92
22 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States ministers in Seoul, 1886-1906
RECAP 1096.537.92.2
2 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Notes from the Korean legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1883-1906 [microform]: September 18, 1883-April 24, 1906
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.

Korea: 20th century

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Korea (Chosen), 1910-1929 [microform]
1729.922
10 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Korea, 1930-1939 [microform]: Department of State decimal file 895
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Korea, 1940-1944 [microform]: Department of State decimal file 895
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Korea, 1945-1949 [microform]: Department of State decimal file 895
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Korea, 1950-1954 [microform]: Department of State decimal files 795, 895, and 995
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Korea, 1955-1959 [microform]: Department of State Decimal Files 795, 795B, 895, 895B, 995, and 995B
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department special files. Korea, 1950-1957 [microform]
Microfilm 09825
11 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS918 .C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html lot files 55-D-128, Records of the Bureau of Far Eastern Affairs, Records relating to the Korean War, 1950-1952: 58-D-643 and 59-D-407, Records of the Office of Northeast Asian Affairs (Korea), 1952-1957

Country Intelligence Reports on Korea Archives Unbound

"This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on Korea."