Skip to main content

Television, radio and documentary film

Primary sources for historical research

Television archives

Vanderbilt University Television News Archive
Index to the most extensive and complete archive of television news.

C-SPAN Video Library
Includes every C-SPAN program aired since 1987. Particularly valuable for coverage of Congress, including video of congressional hearings.

The Internet Archive is now collecting TV news broadcasts. Coverage starts in 2009. Clips plus searchable transcripts online, plus a fee-based service for borrowing coverage on DVD.

and see also Audio & video archives online

Television transcripts

Lexis-Nexis Academic -- under Search the News, choose Source Type = Broadcast Transcripts

Search the Main Catalog for keyword=burrelles transcripts for links to transcripts of selected television programs.

For PBS shows, check

In the Main Catalog or in Worldcat, search for transcripts along with keywords from the name of a specific program to find transcripts in print and microforms.

Reference: television

Encyclopedia of television. Museum of Broadcast Communications; Horace Newcomb, editor. 2nd ed. New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.
Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc): PN1992.18 .E53 2004

The Columbia history of American television. Gary R. Edgerton. New York : Columbia University Press, c2007.
Firestone Library (F) PN1992.3.U5 E34 2007

Encyclopedia of television news. Edited by Michael D. Murray. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1999.
Firestone Library (F) PN4888.T4 E53 1999

Television series and specials scripts, 1946-1992: a catalog of the American Radio Archives collection. Compiled by Jeanette M. Berard and Klaudia Englund; foreword by Norman Corwin. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2009.
Firestone Library (F) Z7713.S47 T56 2009

Television network daytime and late-night programming, 1959-1989. Mitchell E. Shapiro. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c1990.
Firestone Library (F) PN1992.3.U5 S535 1990

Television network prime-time programming, 1948-1988. Mitchell E. Shapiro. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Company, c1989.
Firestone Library (F) PN1992.3.U5 S54 1989

Television network weekend programming, 1959-1990. Mitchell E. Shapiro. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Company, c1992.
RECAP PN1992.3.U5 S545 1992

Special edition: a guide to network television documentary series and special news reports, 1955-1979. Daniel Einstein. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1987.
Firestone Library (F) PN1992.8.D6 E56 1987

Special edition: a guide to network television documentary series and special news reports, 1980-1989. Daniel Einstein. Lanham, Md.,: Scarecrow Press, c1997.
Firestone Library (F) PN1992.8.D6 E56 1997

Encyclopedia of television shows, 1925 through 2007. Vincent Terrace. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c2009.
Firestone Library (F) PN1992.3.U6 T463 2008

The complete directory to prime time network and cable TV shows, 1946-present. Tim Brooks and Earle Marsh. 8th ed. New York: Ballantine Books, 2003.
Firestone Library (F) PN1992.18 .B68 2003