Skip to main content

Twentieth-century U.S. society and politics

Communist Party

Files of the Communist Party of the USA in the Comintern archives [microform]
Microfilm 11816
326 reels
Printed guide: none
"The material in the collection, largely the original headquarters records of the CPUSA shipped to Moscow many decades ago, spans the period from 1912 to 1944 with the bulk in the period from 1922 to 1936. The files contain the original incoming mail, carbons of outgoing correspondence, reports from regional and local organizers, and internal memoranda produced by officials and offices of the national headquarters. In addition to CPUSA records produced in America, these files contain documents created or gathered in Moscow by CPUSA representatives to the COMINTERN. Most of the material in the CPUSA records is in English, although in some files key documents are accompanied by Russian, German, or French translations."

Briefs and other documents of U.S. Communist trials
Microfilm 04035
49 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HX653.B76
Records of about 20 trials that took place between 1919-1953, some well-known and some less so. The defendants were accused variously of membership in Communist or socialist organizations advocating the overthrow of the U.S. government, or in some cases of espionage.

Brownell vs. Communist Party: [official record of proceedings before the Subversive Activities Control Board]
Microfilm 03160
13 reels
Printed guide: none
[description forthcoming]

The Communist Party, USA and Radical Organizations, 1953-1960: FBI Reports from the Eisenhower Library
Microfilm 06842
7 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HX83 .C655 1990
"During the Eisenhower years, the FBI put a number of radical groups under surveillance. It gathered intelligence for use by selected federal offices, including the president’s, in monographs that assessed in great detail the organizations’ structures, inner workings, and beliefs. Most of the documents deal with the Communist Party USA (CPUSA) ... also includes reports on three other extremist organizations: The Nation of Islam, the Ku Klux Klan, and the Socialist Workers Party." See http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/10834_CPUSAFBIDDELib.pdf

Republican Party

Papers of the Republican Party [microform]
Microfilm 09823
51 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms JK2356 .P363
Consists of records of the Republican National Committee, 1911-1980.

Electing the President: Proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988 Archives Unbound "The collection includes the proceedings for 1856-1988 of the Republican National Conventions, providing gavel to gavel coverage of the conventions, including speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms. Also included are lists of names of convention delegates and alternates. Records of the earliest proceedings are based in part on contemporary newspaper accounts."

Democratic Party

Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988 Archives Unbound "This collection includes the proceedings of the 1832-1988 Democratic National Conventions, providing gavel to gavel coverage, including speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms. Also included are lists of names of convention delegates and alternates. Records of the earliest proceedings are based in part on contemporary newspaper accounts."

Socialist Party

Norman Thomas papers, 1904-1976 [microform]
Microfilm 05627
85 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z6616.T47Y64
Thomas was a socialist and among the founders of the ACLU. See http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00688.html;