It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc. Coverage begins in 1984.
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, so that you can track the influence of a key source on the subsequent scholarship. This resource is very powerful and is sometimes referred to as the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, its previous name, although it has components for the sciences and the social sciences.
Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of literature, language, and linguistics from the Middle Ages to the present. Does not include book reviews, however.
Indexes journals in classical philology, ancient history, and archaeology. Based on the journal Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift fur die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft. A good supplement to L’Année philologique since it provides more recent citations.
Major index to scholarly articles appearing in over 10,000 European journals, covering all fields. Searches can be done using either English or German subject terms. Articles themselves are in a wide array of European languages. Many entries have abstracts. Online version begins in 1983, but printed volumes exist from the late nineteenth century, with various title and scope changes.
Major international serial bibliography for Romance languages, excluding French, for which see Klapp, just above. Printed volumes are in Firestone under Z7032 .Z45. Issued in two parts per year: (1) bibliography of language and linguistics studies; and (2) bibliography of literature (editions, history, criticism) and intellectual/cultural history. Each volume includes a general table of contents. The literature volume begins with theoretical and comparative sections, followed by sections for the various literatures, with topical subdivisions.
Online version covers 1985 to the present. For 1969-1984, use the volumes under Z2231 .B5 in the Trustee Reading Room. Complements the MLA International Bibliography for scholarship on all aspects of German language and literature.
Full-text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available, but Princeton often has access to more recent volumes in other ways. Do a journal title search in the Main Catalog to learn precisely what issues are available electronically from a particular journal.
Full-text of scholarly articles from every imaginable field, but it is not possible to know what you may be missing.
If You Want to Explore Princeton Senior Theses
You can search by academic department, advisor, words in the thesis title, class year, or student name. If you find a senior thesis you would like to read, take the information from this database to the Mudd Manuscript Library. It is located across Olden Street from the E-Quad and between the Computer Science Building and the Carl Fields Center.
Whenever you identify a Ph.D. dissertation you would like to see (for instance, as a result of searching MLA International Bibliography), you should copy the title of it into the following database. This will usually provide the abstract and, for fairly recent ones, a link to the pdf of the entire work. If you can't get to the full text, either e-mail me or confer with another librarian, in person or via the chat service.