Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS 400: Comparative Slave Systems in Africa and Latin America [Fall 2010]: Establishing context

Reference tools

Encyclopedia of slave resistance and rebellion. Edited by Junius P. Rodriguez. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007.
Firestone E447 .E53 2007

Slavery in the United States : a social, political, and historical encyclopedia. Junius P. Rodriguez, editor. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2007.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone E441 .S635 2007

Macmillan encyclopedia of world slavery. Edited by Paul Finkelman, Joseph C. Miller. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, Simon & Schuster Macmillan ; London : Simon & Schuster and Prentice Hall International, c1998.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone HT861 .M24 1998

The Historical encyclopedia of world slavery. Junius P. Rodriguez, general editor. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1997.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone HT861 .H57 1997

Resources for 18th & 19th century history

The student of the 18th century is particularly lucky, because there are several large digital collections of English-language printed books, newspapers and magazines.

Books and pamphlets:

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Digital of about 150,000 books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. [We also hold this collection in microform: Microfilm S00656.]

Evans Digital Edition Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period. Replaces the microfilm collection, Early American Imprints, Microfiche 802.

Shaw-Shoemaker Digital Edition Digital library of works published in America in the early 19th century. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

American History & Culture Online Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

 

Newspapers, magazines and broadsides:

Early American Newspapers Provides searchable full-text of newspapers more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Includes newspapers from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society, the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society and others, including the microfilm collection based on Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers." Note that this digital edition replaces Early American Newspapers, Microfilm S00973. 

American Broadsides and Ephemera Digital edition of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. From the collections of the American Antiquarian Society.

Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.

American Periodical Series Online Provides full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th and early 19th centuries

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Library Newspapers (1600-1800) Digital edition of newspapers from the Burney Collection at the British Library. Most are London newspapers of the 17th and 18th centuries, but there are also pamphlets and broadsides.

19th Century British Library Newspapers Digital Archive
This collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers from the British Library. It provides a representative selection of papers from nineteenth century Britain, and includes national and regional newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales.