Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are many other collections in which materials related to Dulles can be found. Please use our comprehensive finding aid search engine found here: http://findingaids.princeton.edu/
American Civil Liberties Union Records, 1947-1995 (MC001.02)
The American Civil Liberties Union Records document the activities of the Union in protecting individual rights from 1920 through 1995. The files contain materials on freedom of speech, expression, and association; due process of law; equality before the law; legal case files; and organizational records.
American Civil Liberties Union Washington, D.C. Office Records, 1948-1970 (MC190)
This collection consists of the papers received and generated by the staff of the Washington, D.C. Office of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) during the 1950s and 1960s. The ACLU is a leading defender of civil liberties in the United States. Founded in 1920, it has been the recipient of sharp criticism for its willingness to defend unpopular causes and has participated in a majority of the landmark cases to come before the Supreme Court in the twentieth century.
Hamilton Fish Armstrong Papers, 1893-1973 (MC002)
The Hamilton Fish Armstrong Papers consist of correspondence, notebooks, memoranda, material from 1945 United Nations Conference on International Organization, writings especially in relation to Peace and Counterpeace and Tito and Goliath, diaries, scrapbooks, and photographs.
Council on Foreign Relations Records, 1918-2006 (MC104)
The Council on Foreign Relations is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research and national membership organization dedicated to improving understanding of international affairs by promoting a range of ideas and opinions on United States foreign policy. The Council has had a significant impact in the development of twentieth century United States foreign policy. The Records of the Council on Foreign Relations document the history of the organization from its founding in 1921 through the present.
Philip A. Crowl Collection on John Foster Dulles, 1873-1965 (MC164)
Philip A. Crowl (1914-1991) was a military historian who taught at universities and conducted research for the United States government, and also served as an intelligence officer. Crowl's Collection on John Foster Dulles is composed of Crowl's research materials for an unwritten biography on Dulles, including photocopies of correspondence, oral histories, and other materials about Dulles's entire career, as well as his family and personal life.
Allen W. Dulles Papers, 1845-1971 (MC019)
The Allen W. Dulles Papers contains correspondence, speeches, writings, and photographs documenting the life of this lawyer, diplomat, businessman, and spy. One of the longest-serving directors of the Central Intelligence Agency (1953-1961), he also served in a key intelligence post in Bern, Switzerland during World War II, as well as on the Warren Commission.
Eleanor L. Dulles Papers, 1863-1989 (MC229)
Eleanor L. Dulles (1895-1996) was an economic specialist for the U.S. State Department from 1942 to 1962. She was most prominently known for her work in rebuilding West Berlin from 1952 to 1960. Dulles's papers document her political writings after her retirement from the State Department in 1962, as well as her fundraising work with the John Foster Dulles Memorial Fund, and include drafts of her articles and books, topical files, and some correspondence.
Dwight D. Eisenhower White House Photographs, 1950-1960 (MC044)
Consists of White House photographs that are mainly of President Eisenhower on various public occasions.
Dwight D. Eisenhower White House Press Releases, 1952-1961 (MC053)
Henry Roemer McPhee, Jr. (1925- ) is a lawyer who served as an economic advisor and special counsel to President Eisenhower. The Dwight D. Eisenhower White House Press Releases were compiled by McPhee and are composed of press releases issued by White House press secretary James C. Hagerty of the text for speeches by President Eisenhower and members of his staff at events and regarding his domestic and foreign policies.
Emmet Hughes Papers,1940-1962 (MC073)
The Emmet Hughes papers document Hughes's work as a speechwriter for Dwight D. Eisenhower in the presidential campaigns of 1952 and 1956 and the first year of Eisenhower's presidency. The collection also includes notes and reviews related to the various books and articles written by Hughes, as well as general correspondence.
Arthur Krock Papers, 1909-1974 (MC079)
Arthur Krock (1886-1974) had a long and distinguished career as a journalist, working for much of his career as Washington correspondent and columnist for The New York Times. His column "In the Nation" was noted for its depth of information and analysis, especially on American politics. The Krock papers document his journalism career, especially with The New York Times, and include his correspondence, his writings, and biographical materials.
Livingston T. Merchant Papers, circa 1944-1972 (MC095)
Livingston T. Merchant was a diplomat and high-ranking government official. This collection consists of Merchant’s papers, including correspondence, articles, notes, speeches, statements, interviews, clippings, printed matter, and personal papers.
H. Alexander Smith Papers, 1897-1966 (MC120)
H. Alexander Smith served as the executive secretary of Princeton University and was later elected to the United States Senate representing New Jersey. Smith made contributions to United States foreign policy while serving on the Senate Foreign Relations Committee. The bulk of documentation focuses on his tenure in the Senate and the period immediately after his retirement; reports, correspondence, and printed material from his work at Princeton are also included.
School of Public and International Affairs Records, 1847-2005 (AC129): John Foster Dulles Centennial Conference
The records of the John Foster Dulles Centennial Conference can be found in the Woodrow Wilson School of Pubic and International Affairs Records. These are the records of the conference entitled "The Challenge of Leadership in Foreign Affairs" held at the School of Public and International Affairs on February 25-27, 1988 in celebration of the centennial of Dulles' birth.