Title: Bernard M. Baruch papers, 1905-1965
Extent: 302.40 cubic feet (521 volumes, 169 boxes, 121 cartons)
Call Number: MC006
Abstract: Baruch was a financier and public adviser. Consists primarily of public papers relating to Baruch's various involvements in government affairs, including his service on the American Commission to Negotiate Peace at the Versailles Conference.
Title: Arthur Bullard Papers, 1905-1929
Extent: 5 cubic feet
Call Number: MC008
Abstract: The Papers of Arthur Bullard (1879-1929), journalist and statesman, chronicle the major world political and economic events relating to World War I and its aftermath. Although the bulk of the material concerns Russia and Western Europe, there are writings on political events in North Africa, Central America, and East Asia as well. The collection includes copies and originals of newspaper and magazine articles, manuscripts of several novels, travel books, and political volumes, memorandum, and correspondence, most of which was written by Bullard. There is also a file of photographs and post cards.
Title: Gilbert F. Close Papers, 1906-1952 (bulk 1918-1919)
Extent: 1.8 linear feet (1 box, 2 photo boxes)
Call Number: MC202
Abstract: During World War I, Gilbert Fairchild Close held several positions in the government of President Woodrow Wilson, culminating with that of Stenographer and Private Secretary to the President. The papers document Close's work with Wilson , including the trip Close took to Europe with Wilson for the Paris Peace Conference at the conclusion of World War I.
Title: Raymond Blaine Fosdick Papers, 1910-1971
Extent: 11.75 linear feet (26 archival boxes, 1 oversize box)
Call Number: MC055
Abstract: The Papers of Raymond Blaine Fosdick (1883-1972) lawyer and writer, focus on his national and international contribution to public administration. Fosdick attended the Paris Peace Conference and served on the League of Nations until the United States opted not to join. The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence relating to the political events occurring during World War I and writings on several humanitarian projects in France (1919-1920), China and Southeast Asia (1949-1950), and the Arctic Circle (1923-1931). The collection consists of copies and originals of newspaper and journal articles, books, correspondence, memorandum, photographs, and reports.
Title: Lindley M. Garrison papers, 1911-1916
Extent: 16.05 cubic feet (25 boxes, 4 cartons, 2 packages)
Call Number: MC060
Abstract: Lindley M. Garrison, a lawyer, was a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and became U.S. Secretary of War in 1913. After the outbreak of World War I, he stressed the need for a large regular army, and after a conflict with President Wilson over this policy, he resigned in 1916. Consists of papers of Garrison covering the period when he was Secretary of War (1913-1916) under President Woodrow Wilson.
Title: Herbert Adams Gibbons papers, 1908-1934
Extent: 13.00 cubic feet (21 boxes, 3 cartons, 1 oversize box)
Call Number: MC062
Abstract: Herbert Gibbons was a journalist and foreign correspondent. Consists of papers of Gibbons from the periods when he was a foreign correspondent (1909-1916) in Greece, Spain, Turkey and other Near Eastern countries, a serviceman with the American Expeditionary Forces in France (1917-1918), and a correspondent (1920-1931) for various American magazines in Europe, Asia, and Africa.
Title: William Hard Papers, 1914-1934
Extent: 2.52 linear feet (6 archival boxes)
Call Number: MC145
Abstract: The William Hard Papers consist of correspondence files, notes, typescripts, speeches, papers and articles relating to the career of William Hard. The papers also contain a significant amount of supplementary printed materials Hard used for research on his unpublished work on the League of Nations fight during the Wilson presidency.
Title: Robert Lansing Papers, 1882-1929 (bulk 1905-1928)
Extent: 5.5 linear feet (13 archival boxes)
Call Number: MC083
Abstract: The Robert Lansing Papers document the later years of Robert Lansing (1864-1928), lawyer, writer, and the longest serving of Woodrow Wilson's three Secretaries of State. During his tenure as Secretary of State (June 23, 1915 to February 13, 1920), the United States entered the First World War on the side of the Entente Powers. Deliberations and negotiations associated with the precarious neutrality which preceded this event and the troubled peace which followed it dominated Lansing's time in office and are reflected in his papers. Lansing's interests as a lawyer, which were international in scope and substance, and the diverse subjects which commanded his attention as a writer – subjects ranging from biblical history to English etymology – are also evident. The Lansing Papers consist of official papers, personal papers, writings and speeches, diaries, sketches, and photographs. Though by no means exhaustive, they shed light on many aspects of Lansing's life and times.
Title: David Lawrence Papers, 1901-1975 (bulk 1933-1970)
Extent: 163.00 cubic feet (310 boxes, 9 cartons, 29 wrapped packages)
Call Number: MC084
Abstract: David Lawrence (Princeton Class of 1910) was an American magazine and news service founder, editor, columnist, and author. This collection includes correspondence; articles and speeches; dispatches; editorials; radio broadcast transcripts; and manuscripts for his books The True Story of Woodrow Wilson (New York: George H. Doran Co., 1924), The Other Side of the Government (New York: Charles Scribners Sons, 1929), and Beyond the New Deal (New York: McGraw, 1934).
Title: Liberty Loan Committee records, 1917-1919
Extent: 23.35 cubic feet (70 flat boxes)
Call Number: MC089
Abstract: Consists of records pertaining to the Liberty Loan Committee of the Federal Reserve Bank during World War I, including correspondence, advertising, subscriptions, bulletins, and other printed materials.
Title: Arthur S. Link Papers, 1940s-1992
Extent: 90.85 linear feet (106 boxes)
Call Number: MC182
Abstract: Arthur S. Link was an author, editor, scholar and publisher, but is best known as the leading historian on Woodrow Wilson and for his contribution to the publication of Wilson's papers. This collection consists of the personal papers of Link, which includes articles, correspondence, notes, office files, and presidency records of the American Historical Association.
Title: Maurice F. Lyons Collection on William F. McCombs, 1910-1917, 1947-1948
Extent: 0.21 linear feet (1 box)
Call Number: MC090
Abstract: The Maurice F. Lyons Collection on William F. McCombs contains typescripts of correspondence and notes by William F. McCombs, a lawyer who was actively involved in Woodrow Wilson's gubernatorial and presidential campaigns. McCombs' secretary, Maurice F. Lyons, provided the transcripts of the correspondence and notes to Arthur S. Link, as part of Link's work on The Papers of Woodrow Wilson. Correspondence between Lyons and Link concerning the typescripts is also located in this collection, as well as a set of scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings on Wilson 's campaigns and administrations.
Title: David Magie papers, 1901-1919
Extent: 1.90 cubic feet (2 boxes, 1 carton)
Call Number: MC093
Abstract: Consists of papers of David Magie (Princeton Class of 1897, professor of Classics at Princeton University) relating primarily to his activities as a member of the staff of the American Commission to Negotiate Peace in 1919, including a transcript of his interview with Woodrow Wilson on May 22, 1919. Also present are background notes and memoranda by Magie, William Yale, and others on Syria, Lebanon, Armenia, Greece, and other Near East countries, his report "The Kurds of the Ottoman Empire," and his notes taken as a student of the classics in Germany (1901-1904).
Title: Alpheus Thomas Mason Papers, circa 1925-1979
Extent: 20.20 cubic feet (24 boxes, 17 cartons)
Call Number: MC177
Abstract: Alpheus T. Mason taught in the Dept. of Politics at Princeton University beginning in 1925 and authored a number of legal works as well as biographies of Supreme Court justices Harlan Fiske Stone and Louis D. Brandeis. This collection consists of papers of Mason, including material relating to Stone, Brandeis and Woodrow Wilson.
Title: Roland S. Morris Papers, 1856-1988 (bulk 1915-1929)
Extent: 0.83 linear feet (2 boxes)
Call Number: MC214
Abstract: Roland S. (Sletor) Morris was a leader of the Democratic Party in Pennsylvania and was the ambassador to Japan from 1917-1921. The Roland S. Morris Papers consist of correspondence, diaries, writings, and other materials that document Morris's family life, political involvement in the Democratic Party, and his position as the U.S. Ambassador to Japan from 1917-1921.
Title: Graduate School Records, 1870-1993 (bulk 1890-1970)
Extent: 20.82 linear feet (46 archival boxes, 2 oversize boxes)
Call Number: AC127
Abstract: The Graduate School at Princeton offers masters and doctorate programs in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and engineering. The Graduate School Records consist of minutes, correspondence, reports, writings, and memoranda, as well as forms, course listings, and information on examinations and fees. Materials from Dean Andrew F. West's tenure pertain to Wilson's time as University president.
Title: Jessie Wilson Sayre Papers, 1886-1931
Extent: 0.63 linear feet (2 boxes)
Call Number: MC216
Abstract: Jessie Wilson Sayre was the daughter of U.S. President Woodrow Wilson and was a political activist. The Jessie Wilson Sayre Papers document the close relationships among the Wilson and Axson families in the early twentieth century, and provide details into their lives.
Title: Frank Augustus Scott papers, 1912-1954 (bulk 1915-1940)
Extent: 6.00 cubic feet (5 cartons, 2 boxes, 1 package)
Call Number: MC118
Abstract: Consists of papers of Scott relating, for the most part, to his positions as chairman of the General Munitions Board during World War I, co-founder and chairman of the War Industries Board (1917), chief of the Cleveland Ordnance District (1924-1928), and adviser to the Army Industrial College (1925). Included are speeches by Scott and others, correspondence (1912-1954) including letters from Newton D. Baker, Palmer E. Pierce, and Bernard M. Baruch, reports, minutes of meetings, journal notes, printed matter, clippings, and photographs of army officers and friends.
Title: Hugh Lenox Scott papers, 1898-1923
Extent: 4.38 cubic feet (1 box, 7 oversize scrapbooks)
Call Number: MC119
Abstract: Consists of papers of Scott relating primarily to his mission as a military member of the Special Diplomatic Commission headed by Elihu Root, which was sent to Russia by Woodrow Wilson in 1917 to encourage the Russian people to continue participation in World War I and to assure them of American aid. Included are reports to the secretary of state on railroads, munitions, and industry, a transcript of Scott's conference with General Manikovsky, and various speeches, propaganda releases, correspondence, and other documents regarding the Commission.
Title: Sesquicentennial Celebration Records, circa 1887-1993 (bulk 1894-1904)
Extent: 3.1 linear feet (1 archival box, 1 half-size archival box, 3 flat 11" x 9" x 1.5" archival boxes, and 10 custom boxes)
Call Number: AC141
Abstract: The collection consists of materials relating to the three-day Sesquicentennial Celebration in October 1896, at which the College of New Jersey became Princeton University. In addition to ephemera and printed material distributed at the celebration, the collection includes a typescript draft of President Francis Landey Patton's sermon, sesquicentennial memorial books, a published sketchbook, official congratulations from other institutions, and press releases and newspaper clippings reporting the events.
Title: Benjamin Strong Collection, 1917-1950
Extent: 7.65 cubic feet (17 boxes)
Call Number: MC128
Abstract: Benjamin Strong was a prominent New York banker who was instrumental in the foundation and success of the Federal Reserve Bank. This collection contains records pertaining to the former Benjamin Strong Collection of Foreign Public Finance in Princeton University Library, which was funded by Strong with the objective of acquiring books and original source material chronicling the development of foreign public finance, central banking, and international trade.
Title: Henry Burling Thompson Papers, 1889-1913
Extent: 1.8 linear feet (4 boxes)
Call Number: AC003
Abstract: The Papers of Henry Burling Thompson, Class of 1877, (1857-1935) consist of some 500 loose pieces of correspondence (much of it incoming letters), eight letterpress copy books, and one scrapbook of printed matter relating to the Princeton Endowment Fund campaign of 1919-1920. The loose letters are dated from 1906 through 1913, and all of them pertain to Princeton matters. The eight copy books contain copies of Thompson's outgoing correspondence in about 4500 pages, about 1200 of which deal with Princeton.
Title: Hugh C. Wallace Papers, 1882-1931
Extent: 0.42 linear feet (1 box)
Call Number: MC111
Abstract: Hugh C. Wallace became one of the most influential financiers of the U.S. Northwest and was a leader of the Democratic party in the region. A trusted adviser to President Woodrow Wilson, he served as ambassador to France, 1919-1921. The Hugh C. Wallace Papers consist of correspondence primarily of Wallace, former member of the Democratic National Committee in 1916, relating to the campaign and reelection of President Woodrow Wilson. As Wallace was appointed American ambassador to France in 1919, there is also correspondence concerning the signing of the peace treaty of Versailles and the Supreme Council and Conference of Ambassadors in Paris.
Title: Woodrow Wilson Foundation records, 1906-1993
Extent: 77.64 linear feet (71 boxes)
Call Number: AC203
Abstract: The Woodrow Wilson Foundation was an organization formed in 1922 in New York City for the "perpetuation of Wilson 's ideals" through research grants and publications. In 1963 the Foundation placed all of these activities indefinitely on hold to provide the financial backing for the completion of The Papers of Woodrow Wilson, a 69-volume set of selected Wilson papers. The collection consists of the administrative records of the Woodrow Wilson Foundation. Materials from prior to 1963 are mainly research proposals and committee minutes and clippings about Wilson. By far the bulk of the materials in the collection are financial records, correspondence, notes, committee minutes, press releases, research proposals, awards, and reports relating to the Woodrow Wilson Papers project.