Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Woodrow Wilson: A Guide to Selected Resources in the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library: Foreword

Contact Mudd Library

Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library
65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08540
Tel: (609) 258-6345
Fax: (609) 258-3385

mudd@princeton.edu

Hours: Monday to Friday – 9 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. (Summer hours – 8:45 a.m. to 4:15 p.m).

Visitors may also tour our exhibition gallery during these hours.

Social Media

Foreword

The 69-volume Papers of Woodrow Wilson stands as one of the preeminent presidential documentary projects. During the course of its work, editor Arthur Link and his staff painstakingly collected the most complete set of Wilsoniana in the world. Once the project was completed, the Woodrow Wilson Papers Project files were moved to the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, where, in conjunction with other collections, they constitute the leading collection for Wilson studies. A complete, digitized version of the Papers of Woodrow Wilson can be found online as of 2017; the digitial database can be browsed and searched.

Among the Wilson-related collections at Mudd are the Woodrow Wilson Collection (formerly held in the Manuscripts Division of Special Collections), as well as those of Ray Stannard Baker (the American Commission to Negotiate Peace [ACNP] and Wilson biographer); Bernard Baruch (who served the Council on National Defense, the War Industries Board and ACNP); Arthur Bullard (Committee on Public Information); Gilbert Close (Wilson's personal secretary); Raymond Fosdick (Commission on Camp Training Activities); Lindley Miller Garrison (Secretary of War); Herbert Adams Gibbons (foreign correspondent); Robert Lansing (Secretary of State); David Lawrence (journalist); the Liberty Loan Committee; Maurice Lyons on William Frank McCombs (who was actively involved in Wilson's gubernatorial and presidential campaigns); David Magie, Jr. (ACNP); Roland S. Morris (Ambassador to Japan); Jessie Woodrow Wilson Sayre (Wilson's daughter); Hugh Lenox Scott (Special Diplomatic Mission to Russia); Benjamin Strong (Federal Reserve Board, New York); Hugh Wallace (advisor to Wilson and Ambassador to France); and the Woodrow Wilson Foundation. The 2016 Princeton exhibition entitled, In the Nation's Service, is also a great resource to help understand Wilson and is available digitally online.

For the first time, this guide brings together the information on these many collections, allowing one to understand how the materials relate to one another and providing information on the various finding aids and indexes available for each. As we approach the centennial of Wilson 's presidential election, it is our hope that this guide will aid those using these records to efficiently conduct their research on one of Princeton 's greatest sons.

Daniel J. Linke
University Archivist and Curator of Public Policy Papers
August 17, 2007 [edited 2019]