Skip to main content

Environmental Health & Toxicology: Databases

Resources, methods and links for finding information and data on environmental health and toxicology

Finding articles

TOXLINE  (1965+)
Bibliographic records from a number of sources dealing with toxicology. Most of the records are from MEDLINE, but a number are from BIOSIS Previews and International Pharmaceutical Abstracts .
 
One of the 12 subfiles of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management and separately searchable. Indexes toxicological studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals; food, additives and contaminants; household products; pharmaceuticals; polycyclic hydrocarbons; nitrosamines. Toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures for toxic substances.
 
One of the 12 subfiles of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, and separately searchable, this database includes references to scientific research as well as government policies. Covers air, water, and land pollution, waste treatment, noise, radiation, and toxicology and health literature, conference papers and other "hard-to-find" documents.
 
Compilation of 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately. There are simultaneously-performed searches on very current literature, and the Internet for websites.
 
Abstract/index information for environmental policy and studies.
TOXMAP belongs to a group of TOXNET databases related to toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
 
MEDLINE (Index Medicus) Medline (PubMed)  (1951+) or MEDLINE (ISI Web of Knowledge) (1950+) or
BIOSIS Previews: Biological Abstracts   (Biological and Zoological Abstracts) (1926+) 

SciFinder Web (Chemical Abstracts)  (or Client -- under Start buttons of library computers) (Chemical Abstracts, 1907+)