Research Guides: American Jurisprudence Collections at the Mudd Manuscript Library: Individuals

Special Collections Mudd Library

65 Olden Street
Princeton New Jersey 08540
Special Collections Mudd

Have a question? AskUs!

Collections

Roger Nash Baldwin Papers, 1885-1981 (MC005)
The Roger Nash Baldwin Papers document the life and career of Roger Baldwin (1884-1981), a prominent and active American civil libertarian for almost all of his prodigiously long life. Baldwin is remembered first and foremost as a founder of the American Civil Liberties Union. Many of the papers in this collection document his involvement with the conscientious objection movement that served as the forerunner to the ACLU and with the Union itself.
more...less...
He served as both its executive director from its foundation in 1920 to his retirement in 1950 and as an advisor from that date until his death in 1981. However, Baldwin cast his net much wider than just the ACLU. During the 1920s and 1930s, he was involved with various left-wing political organizations, including the Industrial Workers of the World. Following the end of World War II, he served as an advisor to the U.S. Army and the United Nations in Germany, Austria, Japan, and Korea, guiding the establishment of democracy in those countries, and he was for many years chair of the International League for the Rights of Man. He spoke and wrote widely, most often on issues of civil liberties and human rights, and also taught periodically throughout his life. The papers, which include correspondence, memos, writings, notes, and photographs, document all aspects of his public life, as well as some portion of his personal life.
Edward S. Corwin Papers, circa 1860-1961 (MC012)
This collection contains correspondence, speeches, lecture notes, writings, and photographs of Edward S. Corwin, a noted constitutional scholar who taught at Princeton University for much of his academic career. Nationally-known and widely published, Corwin consulted with many other academics as well as politicians involved with constitutional issues, most notably when he publicly supported Franklin D. Roosevelt's Supreme Court reorganization (“court packing”) plan.
William O. Douglas Oral History Interviews, 1961-1963 (MC015)
William O. Douglas served as Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court from 1939-1975. The collection includes audio and transcripts of interviews which cover most of Douglas' government career.
Osmond K. Fraenkel Diaries, 1933-1968 (MC192)
This collection contains excerpts from the diaries of Osmond K. Fraenkel, a New York City lawyer who served on the ACLU's Board of Directors and as one of its general counsel. These excerpts discuss the cases in which Fraenkel was involved.
Jeffrey E. Fuller Papers,1941-1970 (MC233)
Jeffrey Fuller (1917-1970) worked for the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) from 1948 to 1966 and also served in the U.S. Army during World War II. Fuller's papers document his service in the U.S. military and his work for the ACLU and include his personal and professional correspondence, memoranda, and diaries.
John Marshall Harlan Papers, 1884-1972 (MC071)
John Marshall Harlan (1899-1971), a distinguished lawyer and jurist, served on the U.S. 2nd Circuit Court of Appeals and the U.S. Supreme Court. Harlan's papers consist of legal materials, correspondence, writings, and personal papers that document his career as an attorney and a judge, especially the period when he was a Supreme Court Justice.
Arthur Garfield Hays Papers, 1915-1955 (MC072)
The Arthur Garfield Hays Papers consist of correspondence, case files, speeches, articles, books, news clippings, and photos which document his career as a New York City lawyer and general counsel for the ACLU.
Peggy Lamson Collection on Roger Baldwin, 1917-1976 (MC082)
This collection contains interview transcripts, cassette tapes, and background material collected by Peggy Lamson for her authorized biography, Roger Baldwin, Founder of the American Civil Liberties Union: A Portrait. Much of the background material was provided, and in some cases annotated, by Baldwin and documents both his professional and personal life.
Alpheus Thomas Mason Papers, circa 1925-1979 (MC177)
Alpheus T. Mason taught in the Dept. of Politics at Princeton University beginning in 1925 and authored a number of legal works as well as biographies of Supreme Court justices Harlan Fiske Stone and Louis D. Brandeis. This collection consists of papers of Mason, including material relating Stone, Brandeis and Woodrow Wilson.
Harold R. Medina Papers, circa 1900-1990 (MC174)
Harold R. Medina was a law professor at Columbia University Law School and had a long tenure as a judge on the 2nd Circuit Court of Appeals of the United States. This collection consists of the papers of Medina covering his Princeton career, his role in legal education, and his tenure in the judicial system.
Laura W. Murphy Papers, 1987-1998 (MC223)
Laura W. Murphy (1955- ) was the Director of the Washington Legislative Office of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), a prominent nonprofit, nonpartisan civil liberties advocacy organization, from 1993 to 2005. In this capacity, she served as the organization's chief lobbyist and as a national spokesperson on federal policy matters, and frequently testified before Congress. Murphy's papers document her tenure as Director of the Washington Legislative Office of the ACLU.
more...less...
The majority of the files are composed of memoranda, articles, and papers written by Murphy and the ACLU on a wide variety of civil liberties issues, including affirmative action, the justice system, rights to privacy, voting rights, issues affecting minorities, and issues involving religion.
Walter Murphy Papers, 1957-2008 (MC267)
Walter Murphy, a political scientist and constitutional scholar, served as the McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence at Princeton University. His papers include correspondence, subject files, clippings, and the records of academic work.
Carol Pitchersky Papers, 1963-2008 (MC210)
Carol Pitchersky (1947-2004) was a fundraiser and consultant who helped bring financial stability to dozens of public interest groups, notably the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). She served as Associate Director in charge of development and strategic planning at the ACLU and as a consultant to other prominent nonprofit organizations. The papers document Pitchersky's work as a fundraiser at the ACLU during the 1980s and for public interest groups in the 1970s and 1990s.
Arthur von Briesen Papers, 1895-1929 (MC034)
The papers housed in the Arthur von Briesen Papers document the later years of Arthur von Briesen (1843-1920), a New York City lawyer and philanthropist. Von Briesen, a German-American patent lawyer, served as President of the Legal Aid Society of New York (1889-1916), and as president of the Alliance of Legal Aid Societies of America.
more...less...
Aside from emphasizing his work with the Legal Aid Society, the papers also highlight a variety of other areas--professional, political, and philanthropic--actively pursued by von Briesen. The papers illuminate the passionate side of von Briesen in the private correspondence with his family and others, as well as his cultural interests and engagement within the German-American community of New York City.
Arthur C. Warner Papers, 1927-2003 (MC219)
Arthur Cyrus Warner (1918-2007) was a prominent figure in the gay liberation movement, focusing his efforts on legal reform to protect the civil liberties of gays. Warner's papers document his involvement in legal reform and other issues pertaining to gay rights. The papers largely consist of legislative and court documents about cases affecting gay civil liberties, and related memoranda, correspondence, and writings.