Skip to main content

General Science: Encyclopedias & Wikis

Key resources for general science information and specific scientific literature databases

Comprehensive Encyclopedias

AccessScience McGraw Hill, from 2004+

Electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10th edition plus content of all yearbooks, definitions and Science News.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th ed. Reference collections in Firestone and Lewis Library Q121 .M3 2007.  McGraw-Hill also puts out a Yearbook of Science & Technology.   Reference Q121 .M13

Van Nostrand’s scientific encyclopedia 10th ed. Lewis and PPL  Reference Q121 .V3 2008

Gale encyclopedia of science  4th ed. 2008

Specialized Encyclopedias & Wikis

Examples of current specialized encyclopedias (some are both in print and available digitally):

  • Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology ;  also in Lewis and Engineering TP9 .K54 2004 in the Reference sections.
  • Grzimek’s animal life encyclopedia [Gale] 2nd ed. ; also in Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) QL7 .G7813 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Life Sciences ; also in Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) QH302.5 .E529 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Evolution [Oxford] ; also in Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) QH360.2 .O83 2002
  • Encyclopedia of genetics, genomics, proteomics, and bioinformatics Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) QH431 .E62 2005
  • Encyclopedia of earth
  • Encyclopedia of geographic information science Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) G70.212 .E53 2008
  • Encyclopedia of water science  2nd ed, 2008, & Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) S494.5.W3 E54 2008
  • Encyclopedia of environmental science and engineering 5th ed. 2006  Lewis Library Reference  (Info Desk) TD9 .E562 2006
  • Encyclopedia of geology 2005, also in Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) QE5 .E529 2005
  • Encyclopedia of physics 3rd ed.,2005 Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) QC5 .E545 2005
  • Encyclopedia of space and astronomy Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) QB136 .A55 2006
  • Encyclopedia of science, technology, and ethics [electronic resource] also in Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) Q175.35 .E53 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition  2nd ed., Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) TX349.E47 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Mathematics
  • Encyclopedia of Physical Science & Technology Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) or Engineering Library  Q123.E497 2002
  • Encyclopedia of global warming and climate change Lewis Library Reference (Info Desk) QC981.8.G56 E47 2008
  • Encyclopedia of global change Andrew S. Goudie, ed., Oxford University Press, c2005
  • WaterWiki.net - collaboration of water sector professionals "based on work in the context of the UN."--web site

Reference Librarian profile

Louise Deis's picture
Louise Deis
Contact:
Peter B. Lewis (Science) Library, Rm. 211

8-3235

Email me
Website / Blog Page